Arial view of the CU Boulder campus including Old Main and the Flatiron mountains in the background.

About the University of Colorado Boulder

Founded in 1876, the University of Colorado Boulder is a public university located at the foot of the Rocky Mountains in Boulder, Colorado. We are in the Association of American Universities (AAU) and we are the leading comprehensive research university in the region with a current research portfolio of $2.4 billion. The university has five Nobel laureates and eight MacArthur Genius Grant fellows. CU Boulder is in the top 10 national rankings in aerospace engineering, environmental law, geology, physical chemistry, quantum physics, and atomic, molecular and optical physics as well as ceramics.

Summer Opportunities

The University of Colorado Boulder is the flagship university for the state of Colorado. We have selective admissions, but our doors are open each summer to high-achieving visiting students in high school, or those pursing undergraduate or graduate degrees at other universities. We offer hundreds of courses in arts and sciences, engineering, law, business, communication and media, environmental design, music, and education. Join nearly 8,000 CU Boulder students who take summer courses and get the most out of your summer. 

Visiting Student Scholarship

Scholarships are available for nondegree students who wish to take summer classes at CU Boulder. You can apply for the Summer Session Nondegree Scholarship through Continuing Education.