Dr. Molly Monroe, who recently graduated from our PhD program, has accepted a position at Indiana University. Congratulations, Molly!

Kudos to all of our Fall 2018, Spring 2019, and Summer 2019 graduates!

Dr. Laura Lesta García, who recently graduated from our PhD program, has accepted a tenure-track assistant professor position of Luso-Hispanic Studies at Middlebury College. She will begin her new post in August. Congratulations, Laura!

Laura Lesta



Prof. Andrés Prieto has been awarded a LEAP Associate Professor Growth Grant (2019-2020). He will use the grant to conduct research in Rome during the summer.

Kudos to Fernanda Iwasaki Cordero, Juan García Oyervides, Molly Monroe, and Miriam Aloisio!  Molly, Miriam and Fernanda won Teaching Excellence awards. Juan was recognized by the United Government of Graduate Students for his service as president.

picture of recipients

Professor Tania Martuscelli has received an honorable mention for the Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award. As the Dean of the Graduate School states in a letter addressed to Prof. Martuscelli, "you should be exceedingly proud of the work you are doing in supporting your graduate students and the graduate education mission".

Kelly Drumright and Fernanda Iwasaki Cordero have been awarded a 2018-2019 Graduate Student Teaching Excellence Award.

Santiago, one of the results of the ongoing creative collaboration between the theatre group Yuyachkani and Prof. Peter Elmore, had two sold-out performances at the Gran Teatro Nacional del Perú, March 27-27, 2019. See an interview with Prof. Elmore below

Entrevista a Peter Elmore - Santiago de Yuyachkani


En nuestro trabajo muchos conciertos, óperas, espectáculos y obras de teatro pasan a diario, pero cada una de ellas nos deja un mensaje. Santiago de Yuyachkan, fue una experiencia muy significativa, pues nos dio la oportunidad de pensar y sentir profundamente a nuestro país. Les dejamos esta entrevista con Peter Elmore, creador de Santiago ...

See the theatrical trailer here.

Senior Instructor Anne Becher has won the 2019 Southwest Conference on Language Teaching's Excellence in Classroom Teaching award at the Post-Secondary level.

Anne Becher and Nina Molinaro have received the CU Dialogues Faculty Fellowship for 2019. They will use the fellowship to contribute to the existing community of CU Dialogues faculty and staff, study the dialogic method in detail, and implement Dialogues into SPAN 3010 (Advanced Rhetoric and Composition). Link here!

nina molinaro and anne becher


Taiko Haessler was awarded the Provost's Fellowship for the University Libraries for Spring semester, 2019. During her time as Fellow, she will work with an academic librarian mentor to complete a project within CU's library collection and its affiliate collections. Her work will result in the creation of an extensive bibliography of medieval women philosophers. 

Fernanda Iwasaki has been awarded the Florence Husted Lowe and F. Rex Lowe Dissertation Fellowship by the Arts and Humanities Dissertation Fellowship Selection Committee. In 2019-20, Fernanda will be working on her dissertation project, tentatively titled El monólogo descentrado: cuerpo, brevedad y performance en la narrativa latinoamericana contemporánea.

Fernanda Iwasaki has received a stipend from the Office for Outreach and Engagement to fund her community-engaged project “Historias de Superhéroes.” Fernanda is a 2018-19 EAH scholar and is currently working with a bilingual local school to support and empower their Latinxs students. More information about her project here.