Marinus Smith Award

2019 Marinus Smith Award Winners

April 23, 2019

The Political Science Department would like to congratulate Professor Sarah Wilson Sokhey and Professor Jennifer Fitzgerald on recieving the 2018-2019 Marinus Smith Awards. We feel grateful to have such amazing faculty! "The Marinus Smith Awards are presented each spring to nominated faculty, advisors and staff members who have made a...


The roots of trust in local government in western Europe.

Fitzgerald J, Wolak J. INTERNATIONAL POLITICAL SCIENCE REVIEW . 37 (1) (January 01, 2016): 130-146. Abstract: When people say that they trust local authorities, is it simply because they have generalized trust in national government? Or is trust in local government rooted in distinctive considerations, connected to the character of...