Alan Weimer

Al Weimer wins the 2017 AIChE Lifetime Achievement Award in Particle Technology

Oct. 4, 2017

Dr. Al Weimer is a real pioneer in particle technology and has made many major advances in this area, including pioneering the technology to coat particles in fluidized beds using atomic layer deposition. Dr. Weimer is H.T. Sears Memorial Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at CU-Boulder... Read more »

Smalyukh Wins Department of Energy Award

Nov. 10, 2016

May 26, 2016 WASHINGTON — The Energy Department’s Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E) today announced $31 million in funding for 14 projects as part of ARPA-E’s newest program: Single-Pane Highly Insulating Efficient Lucid Design (SHIELD). SHIELD project teams are developing innovative window coatings and windowpanes that could significantly improve the... Read more »

Juliet Gopinath of ECEE and MSE has received a CAREER award, the National Science Foundation's most prestigious award for junior faculty.

April 22, 2016

Gopinath will use her award to study the relationship between orbital angular momentum and rotating objects. "The results from the research will be far-reaching, with information about orbital angular momentum modal content essential for free-space communications and endoscopic super-resolution imaging (STED) for protein-level imaging in the human body," she wrote... Read more »

Swiss Chemical Society's 2016 Sandmeyer Awarded to Professor Hendrik Heinz

March 8, 2016

Professor Hendrik Heinz and colleagues received the Swiss Chemical Society’s 2016 Sandmeyer Award for experimental and modeling studies of a new commercial organic additive for the grinding of inorganic solids.Read more »

U.S Patent for Photoinduced Alkyne-azide Click Reactions

March 8, 2016

Professor Chris Bowman , along with Brian A. Adzima and Christopher J. Kloxin, was issued a U.S. patent in November for photoinduced alkyne-azide click reactions .Read more »
krisit anseth

U.S. Patent Issued for Photodegradable Groups for Tunable Polymeric Materials

March 8, 2016

Professor Kristi Anseth , along with Andrea M. Kasko, Mark W. Tibbitt, April M. Kloxin and Balaji Sridhar, was issued a U.S. patent in November for photodegradable groups for tunable polymeric materials.Read more »
FlexTech Alliance

$75M Flexible Hybrid Electronics – Manufacturing Innovation Institute awarded to the University of Colorado Boulder

Aug. 28, 2015

The White House and the Secretary of Denfense announced that FlexTech Alliance has been awarded the FHE MII contract. The University of Colorado is part of the winning team led by Flex Tech Alliance who has been recognized for being a key player in this process. For more information see... Read more »

Smalyukh presented with GSOFT Early Career Award for Soft Matter Research

Aug. 27, 2015

Associate Professor Ival Smalyukh (Department of Physics) was the 2016 winner for the GSOFT Early Career Award for Soft Matter Research. Smalyukh received the award for his “outstanding contributions to the understanding of liquid crystalline materials systems.” For more information concerning the GSOFT Early Career Award visit APS physics website:... Read more »
Ronggui Yang and Xiaobo Yin

Yang and Yin Awarded $3M ARPA-E Grant

Aug. 26, 2015

Group photo

Anseth Receives Bonfils-Stanton Award

May 8, 2015

Distinguished Professor Kristi Anseth (ChBE) was awarded the prestigious Bonfils-Stanton Award at the 30th anniversary of its Annual Award Program. The Bonfils-Stanton Award honors outstanding Coloradans for significant contributions in the fields of art and humanities, community service, and science and medicine. The Bonfils-Stanton Foundation is a private, non-profit Colorado-based... Read more »