Published: Nov. 11, 2022

Lakin always has a smile on her face and is the most positive and loving human, and she never fails to bring other people up.


Lakin FainTo all my ENVD Peers: Keep sharing your work with anyone and everyone- it's so fun and inspiring to see everyone’s passions shine through their projects. 

What year are you and what is your major? 
Junior in architecture

Where are you from? 
I am from Louisville, Kentucky  

What inspired you to come to ENVD? 
I joined ENVD because I thought it would allow me to indulge in my passion for art/design while working to address some of the many issues our society faces. I am very interested in sculptural forms and the balance of their beauty/function. This lead me to choose architecture as my major. I am super interested in the design of live music venues/stages as well–so I am pursuing a lighting design certificate and I work for CU’s program council doing the lighting and sound equalizing of concerts in boulder/Denver. 

Describe a typical studio day for you. 
A typical studio day for me starts by sprinting up the spiral staircase. I got to my desk and start playing with all my models, messing around on trace paper, and talking to my peers about our designs, then maybe I chat with Marianne in a desk crit- Get an idea and draw it out. Then I go give a tour of the building then I go to art class!  

What has been one of your favorite memories so far, this academic year/or throughout your time at ENVD? 
I create custom t-shirt designs and hand paint them with bleach to fundraise donations for various social/environmental issues in my hometown in Kentucky. My website is if you are interested in collaborating on a t-shirt design! In middle school, I started selling portrait drawings in my hometown and now I have progressed to sell commissioned paintings of portraits, landscapes, pet portraits etc. in all different mediums and shipping them all across the world. It’s the most enjoyable job I’ve ever had!  

What’s your go-to activity during the fall and winter months? 
My go-to activity is painting and basket weaving, and a little bit of harmonica playing. I am on the Board of Backcountry Squatters–a women in outdoors club on campus where I have met a lot of my closest friends going on camping, climbing, hiking trips.