Published: April 26, 2021

ENVD 2021 scholarship and award recipients

Thanks to the generosity of our donors and alumni, the Program in Environmental Design is pleased to award more than $50,000 in scholarships and awards to students in the program. 

All ENVD students are eligible to apply. The application period is open from November 1 through February 15, and the scholarships and awards are announced each spring semester. 

Congratulations to the following recipients of the 2020 ENVD scholarships and awards!

ENVD Program Scholarships

Dana Giffin Soper Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Dana Giffin Soper, a former ENVD student. It is awarded to students that demonstrate excellent academic performance, as well as exemplary personality and character. 

  • Nicholas Arvidson

D.J. Hynek Memorial Scholarship is awarded in memory of D.J. Hynek, an ENVD student who graduated from the program in 2000. Hynek found the ENVD program exceptionally meaningful and supportive of his intellectual interests and career ambitions. 

Lauren Williamson

  • Lauren Williamson, junior in architecture

Douglas Darden Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Douglas Darden by his parents. It is awarded to students who are Colorado residents that demonstrate great professional promise and academic merit.

  • Marian Prather

Hideo Sasaki Scholarship in Interdisciplinary Design was established by the University's Board of Regents to honor Hideo Sasaki's exemplary efforts as a teacher and design practitioner to inspire future generations of ENVD students to higher levels of achievement.

Bryan Martino

  • Bryan Martino, sophomore in environmental design and ecology & evolutionary biology

Charles Haertling Scholarship was established in memory of Charles A. Haertling, AIA architect, and celebrates Haertling's commitment to humanistic ideals in both the arts and design, as well as the spirit of community service. 

  • Michael Quirk

Richard L. Crowther Memorial Scholarship was established to support students interested in environmental architecture, sustainable building, solar energy, energy conservation or therapeutic architecture to undertake a related research project or unpaid professional development opportunity. 

  • Kerstin Nyquist

Sofija Andrew

  • Sofija Andrew, junior in architecture with minors in Spanish and TAM

Marcia Miller Memorial Scholarship

  • Nicholas Arvidson

Martin Luther King, Jr. Housing Prize Scholarship was established in memory of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. It is awarded to students who express interest in affordable housing as part of their essays and supporting application materials. 

  • Erika Andrade

ENVD Research Award

  • Will Currell

Lynn M. Lickteig Photography Award

  • Abhinav Sahariah

ENVD Achievement Scholarships

Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship was established to honor esteemed students who have made significant contributions to the program or university.

  • Lydia Mercante
  • Briannarose Murphy

Kayla Vaartjes

  • Kayla Vaartjes

Caitlin Loyd

  • Caitlin Loyd, first-year in architecture

Lakin Fain

  • Lakin Fain, first-year in architecture
  • Joshua Dusbabek
  • Carr Tancig

Julia Rodriguez

  • Julia Rodriguez, a sophomore in architecture

Caleb Schmitz

  • Caleb Schmitz, a sophomore in sustainable planning & urban design

Aden Dravenstott

  • Aden Dravenstott, a sophomore in sustainable planning & urban design

Environmental Design Discipline Specific Achievement Scholarship was established to honor esteemed students who have made significant contributions to the program or university and show great promise for their chosen major. 

Katelyn Warren

  • Katelyn Warren, junior in architecture | Project: Frame of Reference

Sarah Riddick

  • Sarah Riddick, junior in landscape architecture

Brian Tseng-Nicodemus

  • Brian Tseng-Nicodemus, junior in sustainable planning & urban design

Environmental Design Faculty Esteemed Graduate Award is nominated and voted on by each ENVD discipline-specific faculty. This honor is conferred upon graduating seniors who through their design work, character, contributions and efforts, embody the highest ideals celebrated within the ENVD community. 

  • ​Matt Andronowitz

  • ​Angus MacInnis
  • Narda Rodriguez Gonzalez
  • Lauren Oertel
  • Isabella Manzo
  • Jennifer Pintar
  • William Currell
  • Sebastian Bielski

Marie (Molly) Obermeier

  • Marie (Molly) Obermeier, senior in architecture | project: Colombia Study Abroad Program design-build. The image is of a finished play structure made out of bamboo, rope and recycled tires.

Claudia O'Herron

  • Claudia O'Herron, senior in environmental product design

Jeffrey Barnett

  • Jeffrey Barnett, senior in landscape architecture

Architectural Education Fund, AIA Colorado Scholarships

De Von M. Carlson, FAIA Scholarship

Nick Berg

  • Nick Berg, senior in architecture

C. Gordon Sweet Scholarship is awarded to a third or fourth-year ENVD student who shows promise of contributing to the design/building industry. C. Gordon Sweet was a prominent Colorado architect and two-time president of AIA Colorado. His practice spanned 25 years from 1946 to 1970 in Colorado Springs. 

Elizabeth Sommer

  • Elizabeth Sommer, junior in architecture with a certificate in lighting design

Colorado North Region Scholarship is awarded to an ENVD student in the pursuit of architectural education and their contribution to the program.

  • Marie Hladisova

Gary G. Landin AIA Scholarship was established in 1999 for undergraduate students demonstrating exemplary academic merit. Gary G. Landin, AIA, was a co-founder of Intergroup Architects and a respected Colorado architect. He practiced in Denver from 1956-1998. This scholarship is presented by Intergroup Architects and his family to honor his memory.

  • Cobi Granger

Oscar R. Sanchez, AIAS Scholarship

  • Chloe Brewer

Colorado Garden Foundation Awards

The Colorado Garden Foundation Scholarship is awarded to students in landscape architecture.

Corey Niemann

  • Corey Niemann, junior in landscape architecture

Tyler Lanphear

  • Tyler Lanphear, sophomore in environmental design