ENVD students posing for a group photo at the photobooth.

ENVD alumni during the social hour prior to the awards ceremony.On the evening of Friday, April 20, the Program in Environmental Design hosted its annual Awards Gala to recognize students for their design scholarships and awards. Prior to the ceremony, Program Director Kevin Krizek hosted a social hour for over 70 guests including, design professionals, ENVD alumni, faculty and staff.

Volunteers from the student body assist in planning the event every year. Duties range from picking a theme for invitations, tickets and communications, to selecting a keynote speaker and organizing the awards ceremony. This year, Renee del Gaudio, a nationally-recognized architect opened the ceremony as the keynote speaker.




 Sebastian Bielski, Bradleigh Jenkins, Cale Wagner.

During the ceremony, students were recognized for the following Environmental Design Scholarships:

Kyle Burds
Charles Haertling Scholarship

Constantine Chrisafis
Dana Giffin Soper Memorial Scholarship

Leyla Wahedi
D.J. Hynek Memorial Scholarship

Sara Taketatsu
Douglas Darden Memorial Scholarship

Sebastian Bielski
First Year Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship

Bradleigh Jenkins
Second Year Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship

Katelyn Sector
Third Year Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship

Cale Wagner
Fourth Year Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship

Winter Roybal
Senior Giving Campaign

Rebecca Randolph
Hideo Sasaki Scholarship in Interdisciplinary Design

Tiffany Filatov
Marcia Miller Memorial Scholarship

Carson Byerhof
Lynn Lickteig Photography Scholarship

Constantine Chrisafis
Undergraduate Student Paper Award

Ethan Herrold
Undergraduate Student Research Award

Stephen Loos
Architecture Education Foundation Trustee

Kyle Burds
C.Gordon Sweet Scholarship

Madison Castello
Colorado North Chapter Scholarship

Specialization Scholarships:

Ann Dang
Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship in Landscape Architecture

Ethan Herrold
Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship in Architecture

Sara Hutchinson
Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship in Planning

Cody Thurston
Environmental Design Achievement Scholarship in Design Studies

Nate Jones, Yuritzi Gonzalez Trujillo, Emily GreenwoodThe following students, faculty and staff were recognized by Designers Without Boundaries:

Victor Gonzalez
DWB Excellence Through Service

Sara Taketatsu
DWB 360 Leadership Award

Rebecca Randolph
DWB Exemplified Student Award

Yuritzi Gonzalez-Trujillo
DWB Rising Scholar:

Nate Jones
DWB Outstanding Staff Award

Emily Greenwood
DWB Outstanding Faculty Award

Nathaniel Hottenstein, Mallisyn Bunce, Daniel Rubenstein.

The following students were recognized for their ENVD Design Awards:

Nathaniel Hottenstein
First Year Design Award

Brooke Williams
Second Year Design Award

Erick Gudvangen Sherwood, Abby Mies and Sara Hutchinson
Third Year Design Award

William France
Fourth Year Design Award

Bryce Fish, Peter Ganfield and Stefan Kowynia
Non-Studio Design Award

Daniel Rubenstein
First and Second Year Portfolio Award

Caroline Walton
First and Second Year Portfolio Award

William France
Third and Fourth Year Portfolio Award

Dixon Stein
Third and Fourth Year Portfolio Award

Mallisyn Bunce
People’s Choice Award


Dylan West, academic advising coordinator, was also recognized for the Award of Gratitude for Outstanding Commitment to the ENVD Community.

Kevin J. Krizek speaking at the ENVD Awards Gala.During the event, guests could bid on student-donated work, ranging from photography and illustrations to greeting cards and ceramics, at the Designers Without Boundaries Silent Auction. Over 40 students submitted work to be considered, and 25 pieces were selected to be auctioned off. When the auction ended, all 25 pieces were sold and Designers Without Boundaries made over $400, which will be put towards the DWB scholarship program. Designers Without Boundaries is an academic scholarship program for first-generation and underrepresented students in ENVD.

Published: April 27, 2018 By