Stephen Graham Jones
Professor of Distinction • Ineva Reilly Baldwin Endowed Chair

Stephen Graham Jones is the Ivena Baldwin Professor of English, as well as a Professor of Distinction at the University of Colorado Boulder. Jones is the author of several novels and story collections, including Mapping the Interior (, 2017), My Hero (Hex Publishers, 2017), Mongrels (Harper Collins Publishers, 2016), The Night Cyclist (, 2016), The Fictions of Stephen Graham Jones: A Critical Companion, edited by Billy J. Stratton (University of New Mexico Press, 2016), The Faster Redder Road: The Best UnAmerican Stories of Stephen Graham Jones (University of New Mexico Press, 2015), After the People Lights Have Gone Off (Dark House Press, 2014), Not for Nothing (Dzanc Books, 2014), States of Grace (SpringGun Press, 2014), The Least of My Scars (Broken River Books, 2013), Sterling City (Nightscape Press, LLP, 2014), Flushboy (Dzanc Books, 2013), The Elvis Room (This Is Horror, 2014), The Gospel of Z (Samhain Publishing, 2014), Three Miles Past (Nightscape Press, LLP, 2013), The Last Final Girl (Lazy Fascist Press, 2012), Growing Up Dead in Texas: A Novel (MP Publishing, 2012), Zombie Bake-Off (Lazy Fascist Press, 2012), The Ones That Got Away (Prime Books, 2011), It Came from del Rio (Bunnyhead Chronicles) (Trapdoor Books, 2010), Demon Theory (MacAdam/Cage, 2006), Ledfeather (Fiction Collective 2, 2008), The Long Trial of Nolan Dugatti (Chiasmus Press, 2008), Bleed into Me: A Book of Stories (Native Storiers: A Series of American Narratives) (University of Nebraska Press, 2005), All the Beautiful Sinners (Rugged Land, 2010), The Bird is Gone: A Manifesto (Fiction Collective 2, 2003) and The Fast Red Road: A Plainsong (Fiction Collective 2, 2000) among others.

He also has nearly three hundred short stories published, from literary journals to truck-enthusiast magazines, from textbooks to anthologies to best-of-the-year annuals. Jones has been an NEA Fellow, a Texas Writers League Fellow, has won the Texas Institute of Letters Award for Fiction, the Independent Publishers Multicultural Award, the Bram Stoker Award, four This is Horror Awards, has been a Shirley Jackson Award finalist and a Colorado Book Award finalist, and he's had his work named one of Bloody Disgusting's Top Ten Horror Novels of the Year. His areas of interest, aside from fiction writing, are horror, science fiction, fantasy, film, comic books, pop culture, technology, and American Indian Studies. Jones received his BA in English and Philosophy from Texas Tech University (1994), his MA in English from the University of North Texas (1996), and his PhD from Florida State University (1998). Jones’ current projects are a paleoanthropological thriller set in Boulder, a slasher, and another slasher.

Areas of Specialty

  • Creative Writing
  • Ethnic American Literature, Literature of the Americas, Post Colonial Literature
  • Popular Culture, Film, Digital Media
  • Comic books
  • Novels in popular genres, such as horror, science fiction, fantasy, westerns, thriller, mystery, noir, and YA