Published: Feb. 21, 2018

CU Boulder Education Dean Kathy Schultz is one of just 11 prominent education scholars nationwide announced today as a 2018 Fellow of the American Educational Research Association, the country’s largest interdisciplinary research association devoted to the study of education and learning.

Dean Kathy Schultz

Dean Kathy Schultz

Schultz is professor and dean of the CU Boulder School of Education, where her scholarship addresses listening and silence in teaching. She is currently working on a book about distrust and educational change. Since coming to CU Boulder in 2016, Schultz has focused on developing place-based partnerships to strengthen student teaching, professional development and research, policy and community-engagement projects. She has worked closely with partners in Northeast Colorado to develop recruitment and retention strategies as a way to address the teacher shortage in that area and across Colorado communities.

“From day one, Dean Schultz has embodied a passion for developing and disseminating innovative practices that support educators and learners in classrooms and schools,” said Russell Moore, CU Boulder provost. “Beyond her many leadership roles, this prestigious recognition acknowledges her vast and growing contributions to the educational research field.”

Founded in 1916, the American Educational Research Association (AERA) advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.

AERA Fellows are selected on the basis of their notable and sustained research achievements. Fellows are nominated by their peers, selected by a committee of fellows and approved by the AERA Council, the association’s elected governing body.

Schultz joins than 600 current AERA Fellows recognized for their leading contributions within and beyond their fields of research. She is also one of seven current CU Boulder colleagues and AERA Fellows, including Rubén Donato, Kathy Escamilla, Gene Glass (past AERA president), Michele Moses, Bill Penuel, Lorrie Shepard (past AERA president) and Kevin Welner.

Schultz and the new 2018 fellows will be inducted on Saturday, April 14, during the 2018 AERA Annual Meeting in New York City.