In September 2010, Mary McClanahan, an alumna of the program (BA ’67, MA ’69), made a very generous planned gift to endow an annual series of Classics department lectures, typically three public lectures given by departmental faculty and one by the recipient of the Mary McClanahan graduate essay prize ($1500), awarded annually to the best essay submitted to the department by a current student in the department.

Previous Winners:

2020 - Florencia Foxley
2019 - Jacob Sawyer
2018 - Samuel Hahn
2017 - Samuel Kindick
2016 - Elizabeth Deacon
2015 - Kevin Jefferson
2014 - Sidney Christman
2013 - Ian Oliver
2012 - Reina Callier
2011 - Mitch Pentzer


poster for mcclanahan lecture by dimitri nakassis on feb 2, 2017

McClanahan Lecture: Forgotten Cities

Feb. 22, 2017

Forgotten cities hidden in plain sight: archaeology and ancient landscapes in Greece presented by Professor Dimitri Nakassis Archaeology is usually associated with excavation, a process that brings the past into the present by peeling away layers, revealing ancient surfaces and structures along with their associated artifacts. In places like Rome...

cover image from Apuleius Golden Ass

Winner of McClanahan Essay Prize - Elizabeth Deacon

Nov. 30, 2016

Congratulations to Elizabeth Deacon , winner of this year’s Mary E. V. McClanahan Graduate Essay Prize. Elizabeth is fourth-year PhD student working on Apuleius. She receives the $1500 prize for her essay “Diotima and Isis: The Platonic Model behind the Metamorphoses ’ Eleventh Book”. She will present her essay as...

column of Trajan at night

McClanahan Lecture Series - NOV 16

Nov. 16, 2016

McClanahan Lecture Series Revisiting the Column of Trajan presented by Associate Professor Diane Conlin Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at 7PM in HUMN 150

2016 McClanahan Graduate Essay Prize Annoncement

Sept. 23, 2016

Announcement of the 2016 Mary E. V. McClanahan Graduate Essay Prize Summary: Classics Graduate students are invited to submit essays to be judged by a committee of three faculty members. The writer of the essay judged to be the best will receive $1,500 and will present his or her essay...