Published: Sept. 11, 2016

Tina Goldstein, associate professor of psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh and a University of Colorado Boulder alumna, has won the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. Goldstein is one of a select group of researchers chosen by President Barack Obama to receive this honor.

“These early-career scientists are leading the way in our efforts to confront and understand challenges from climate change to our health and wellness,” President Obama said.

Tina Goldstein

Tina Goldstein

“We congratulate these accomplished individuals and encourage them to continue to serve as an example of the incredible promise and ingenuity of the American people.” 

Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology, and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education or community outreach. It is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.  

Goldstein was nominated by the Department of Health and Human Services based on her innovative research on the assessment and psychosocial treatment of youth with and at risk for bipolar disorder, and suicide prevention in this population.

She has served as the principal investigator for several projects supported by the National Institute of Mental Health and private foundations, and as a co-investigator for numerous other externally sponsored projects. 

Goldstein and the other Early Career Award winners were presented with their awards at a ceremony in Washington, DC, this spring.

Goldstein received her PhD in clinical psychology from the CU Boulder in 2003. She completed the psychology internship program and a federally funded postdoctoral fellowship in child and adolescent psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh’s Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic prior to her appointment to the faculty as an assistant professor in 2006.