Staff Council Update: 2013 election results

Published: May 14, 2013

The results of the Boulder Campus Staff Council annual election have been announced. Seven incumbents and four newcomers were elected to represent staff on the Boulder campus through a campus-wide, web-based nomination and voting process. 

Eighteen staff members, having been nominated by fellow staff, were competing for several open council seats during this year’s election which closed on April 29. 
Incumbent Philip Bradley and newcomer Joshua Firestone were both elected to represent area one. Newly-elected Serena Leland will fill the vacancy in area two. Joanna Iturbe, who will be a new addition to the council, received the most votes in a very competitive area three election. Area four will be represented by newcomer Amaury Batista and a current council member, Sharon Vieyra, will continue to represent area five after running uncontested.  Three incumbent council members ran unopposed in areas six, seven and eight: John McKee from area six, Nicholas O’Connor from area seven and Greg Roers from area eight will return to represent staff in their respective areas. Former co-chair Sarah Douvres was elected to the council’s vacant at-large seat. Those elected will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2013 and ending June 30, 2016.
Boulder Campus Staff Council is comprised of thirty elected and appointed staff members who represent classified and professional staff on the CU-Boulder campus.  Each spring, the council elects officers from the current council roster.  The following incumbent council members have been elected to serve as officers beginning July 1, 2013:
  • Co-chair: Randi Viola, ATLAS Institute
  • Co-chair: John McKee, Facilities Management
  • Vice Chair: Greg Roers, ABS
  • Secretary: Dana Drummond, Bursar’s Office
  • Treasurer: Erin Foster, Office of the Provost
  • Parliamentarian: Dana Kusjanovic, Office of the Registrar
More information about Boulder Campus Staff Council, area representatives, and upcoming events can be found at To see your area representatives, click on membership from the home page then click on the area your building is located in on the membership page. A drop-down displays your area reps.