The CU Boulder Public and Community-Engaged Scholarship Grants Committee is composed of faculty and staff from multiple academic disciplines. 

The committee meets each spring to review the Tier 3 and 4 proposals and select outstanding projects that meet at least one of the following criteria: 

  • Respond to a direct request made by a school or community group 
  • Establish a long-term relationship with a group or community 
  • Serve a community with limited access to CU Boulder programs 
  • Make the work of CU Boulder’s distinguished faculty accessible to the public 
  • Involve CU Boulder undergraduate and graduate students in project development, implementation and or/evaluation 

2023-24 Committee Members


Hannah Brenkert-Smith headshot
Hannah Brenkert-Smith
Fellow • Associate Research Professor
Institute of Behavioral Science
Kristin A. Carpenter headshot
Kristin A. Carpenter
Professor • Director of the American Indian Law Clinic
Colorado Law
Jennifer hayghe headshot
Jennifer Hayghe
Associate Professor
College of Music
Jingchun Li headshot
Jingchun Li
Associate Professor
College of Arts and Sciences • University of Colorado Museum of Natural History
Enrique Lopez headshot
Enrique López
Associate Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Gregor MacGregor headshot
Gregor MacGregor
Instructor • Research Fellow
Masters of the Environment • Colorado Law
David Meens headshot
David Meens
Office for Public and Community-Engaged Scholarship
Don Oest headshot
Don Oest
Senior Instructor
Leeds School of Business
Cecilia pang headshot
Cecilia Pang
College of Arts and Sciences
Joseph Ryan headshot
Joseph Ryan
Committee Chair • Professor
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Leah Sprain headshot
Leah Sprain
Associate Professor • Lead Higher Education and Democracy Fellow
College of Media Communication and Information