LVC Thumbnail

Lab Venture Challenge Award Winner

Nov. 23, 2020

The Marshak Lab and OTORO Energy won the 2020 Lab Venture Challenge and the Audience Choice Award for flow battery technology developed in the Marshak Group at CU-Boulder. The funding includes $100,000 in lab funding for further technology development and $25,000 seed funding for OTORO Energy. Thanks to the Colorado...


Evaluating aqueous flow battery electrolytes: a coordinated approach

Oct. 24, 2020

Here, we outline some basic pitfalls in the electrochemical investigation of aqueous metal complexes and advocate for the use of bulk electrolysis in redox flow cells for electrolyte analysis. We demonstrate the methods of operation and performance of a lab scale redox flow battery (RFB), which is assembled from unmodified,...

Laura Maurer Thumbnail

Laura Maurer wins CURFA Carl Kisslinger Research Award

May 11, 2020

Laura Maurer , Department of Chemistry I'm originally from Pennsylvania and completed my undergraduate degree at McDaniel College in Westminster, Maryland. I love watching sports, particularly baseball. I'm also an avid reader and enjoy running in my spare time. My research is focused on exploring main group metals as emissive...


Effect of Chelation on Iron–Chromium Redox Flow Batteries

April 30, 2020

The iron–chromium (FeCr) redox flow battery (RFB) was among the first flow batteries to be investigated because of the low cost of the electrolyte and the 1.2 V cell potential. We report the effects of chelation on the solubility and electrochemical properties of the Fe 3+/2+ redox couple. An Fe...

Niamh Brown Thumbnail

Niamh Brown receives Goldwater Scholarship

April 13, 2020

Niamh Brown, a junior from Boulder who is majoring in chemistry, and Santos Navarro, a junior from Denver who is majoring in molecular, cellular and developmental biology, join 42 previous CU Boulder Goldwater Scholars and will receive up to $7,500 for the 2020-2021 academic year. Brown has worked in two...

sebastian thumbnail

Sebastian Krajewski wins 2019 Inorganic Chemistry Award for Undergrad Research

April 13, 2020

Sebastian Krajewski won the 2019 ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Award for Undergraduate Research, recognizing the collaborative research of an outstanding undergraduate student/preceptor team in the field of inorganic chemistry, as broadly defined. The award was established in 2010 by the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry and will be presented...


Group 4 Organometallics Supported by Sterically Hindered β ‐Diketonates

April 7, 2020

The synthesis, characterization, and reactivity of group 4 organometallics supported by β ‐diketonates is reported. Sterically hindered β ‐diketonates, such as 2,6‐dimesitylbenzoyl pinacolone ( L 1 ) and 2,6‐dimesitylbenzoyl acetylmesitylene ( L 2 ), preclude the formation of tetrakis‐ and tris‐chelates, halting at cis ‐octahedrally coordinated M( L n )...


Titanium-Anthraquinone Material as a New Design Approach for Electrodes in Aqueous Rechargeable Batteries

April 4, 2020

The need for expanded energy storage motivates material development for scalable aqueous secondary batteries. The combination of transition metals with redox-active organics represents a new approach to functional material design. Here, we detail the synthesis of titanium(IV) 1,8-dihydroxyanthraquinone (Ti(1,8-DHAQ) 2 ) as a novel redox-active material and demonstrate its use...


Copper(II) as a Platform for Probing the Steric Demand of Bulky β-Diketonates

Dec. 16, 2019

The synthesis and characterization of a series of copper bis(β-diketonate) complexes, functionalized with sterically hindered o -biphenyl and m -terphenyl functional groups, are reported. X-ray structural analysis reveals that the ligands exhibit several modes of flexibility in order to accommodate the steric demand. Increased steric bulk of the ligands influences...

Aaron Crossman wins the 2018 John S. Meek Teaching Award

Nov. 7, 2019

The Meek Award recognizes organic chemistry teaching assistants who show "Excellence in Teaching". Student evaluations (FCQs) and faculty and staff assessments of teaching assistant performance all help determine the recipients. More information on the Meek Award: