Published: Oct. 19, 2017

Provost award Mahmoud HusseinAt the 12th annual Fall Convocation Awards and Presentations Celebrating Faculty Achivements Oct. 6, 2017, the campus honored faculty who were recently tenured or promoted, and faculty receiving the Provost's Achievment Award. Mahmoud Hussein (Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences) has been granted this award for his article, “Nanophonic metamaterial: Thermal conductivity reduction by local resonance.” Sean Shaheen (Department of Electrical, Computer, and Energy Engineering) has been granted this award for his research into flexible solar cells, including “Experimental demonstration of photon upconversion via cooperative energy pooling.”