Spring 2024

Schedule

Date Title and Speaker

Monday, January 22

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Worker health and climate change: research and practice in Latin America

Lyndsay Krisher, DrPH, MPH
Senior Research Instructor
Department of Environmental & Occupational Health
Colorado School of Public Health

(Host: Chris DeSouza desouzac@colorado.edu)

Monday, January 29

Eaton Humanities Building 150

From Epidemiology to Action: Environmental justice to shape policies and empower communities

Jenni Shearston, Ph.D. MPH
Post-Doctoral Scientist
Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
University of California Berkeley

(Host: Chris DeSouza desouzac@colorado.edu)

Monday, February 5

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Opportunities at the Intersection of Environmental Epidemiology and Integrative Physiology

Laura Corlin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Public Health and Community Medicine
Tufts University

(Host: Chris DeSouza desouzac@colorado.edu)

Monday, February 12

Eaton Humanities Building 150

On the origins of neurodegenerative diseases

Christopher Link, Ph.D.
Associate  Professor
Deapartment of Integrative Physiology
University of Colorado Boulder

(Host: Marissa Ehringer marissa.ehringer@colorado.edu)

Monday, February 19

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Exosomes in Brain Cancers: Fiery Fat Balls Featuring Flagrant Phenotypes Forcing Fundamental Fugue

Michael Graner, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Department of Neurosurgery
University of Colorado Anschutz

(Host: Monika Fleshner monika.fleshner@colorado.edu)

Monday, February 26

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Microbes and Mental Health: Translating preclinical findings to the clinic

Jane Foster, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Psychiatry
UT Southwestern Medical Center

(Host: TBD)

Monday, March 4

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Targeting Adiposity and Caloric Restriction in Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease

Kristen Nowak, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Division of Renal Diseases and Hypertension
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical School

(Host: Daniel Craighead daniel.craighead@colorado.edu)

Monday, March 11

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Cancer's Ally: The Role of Stress in Immune Escape

Elizabeth Repasky, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Oncology
Roswell Park Memorial Cancer Center

(Host: Monika Fleshner monika.fleshner@colorado.edu)

Monday, March 18

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Benefits of intermittent hypoxia on cardiovascular health

Sophie Lelande, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
University of Texas Austin

(Host: Andrew Tan andrew.tan@colorado.edu)

Monday, March 25

 

Spring Break: No Classes

Monday, April 1

Alcohol, cannabis and the microbiota-gut-brain axis

Hollis Karoly, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology
Colorado State University

(Host: Christopher Lowry christopher.lowry@colorado.edu)

Monday, April 8

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Complexity and Connectivity: The Importance of Genetic Background for Model Organism Genetics

David Ashbrook, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Genetics, Genomics & Informatics
University of Tennessee Health Science Center

(Host: Charles Hoeffer charles.hoeffer@colorado.edu)

Monday, April 15

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Title TBD

Katherine Steele, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Washington

(Host: Alena Grabowski alena.grabowski@colorado.edu)

Monday, April 22

Eaton Humanities Building 150

Illuminating visual circuits

Tiffany Schmidt, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Neurobiology
Northwestern University

(Host: Ken Wright kenneth.wright@colorado.edu)

Monday, April 29

 

Grad Student Dissertation Presentations