Fall 2019

  • When: Monday 12:00 - 12:50 pm
  • Where: Eaton Humanities 150
  • For more information: Contact Mark Opp at mark.opp@colorado.edu

Schedule

Date Title and Speaker

August 26

Introduction for Graduate Students

Mark Opp, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Integrative Physiology
University of Colorado Boulder

September 2

Labor Day - No colloquium

September 9

Navigating the Leap from Academia to Industry

Robyn Capobianco, Ph.D.
Global Director Clinical Research
Chronic Pain Therapies
Abbott
Austin, TX
(Host: Roger Enoka enoka@colorado.edu)

September 16

(Lifecourse) Epidemiology: It's More than Skin Deep

Wei Perng, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology
Assistant Director of 'Omics Research | LEAD Center
Colorado School of Public Health
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
(Host: Céline Vetter celine.vetter@colorado.edu)

September 23

How Does Research Advance Public Health? A Look Back by an Aging Researcher

Jon Samet, Ph.D.
Dean, Colorado School of Public Health
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
(Host: Tanya Alderete tanya.alderete@colorado.edu)

September 30

The Dog and Pony Show

Matt McQueen, Sc.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Integrative Physiology
Unversity of Colorado Boulder
(Host: Roger Enoka roger.enoka@colorado.edu)

October 7

Using Genetics to Understand the Neurobiology of Behavior

Jerry Stitzel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Integrative Physiology
University of Colorado Boulder
(Host: Mark Opp mark.opp@colorado.edu)

October 14

Spatial Mapping of Human and Environmental Microbiomes

Rob Knight, Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Pediatrics and Computer Science & Engineering
Founding Director, Center for Microbiome Innovation
University of California San Diego
(Host: Doug Seals seals@colorado.edu)

October 21

Metabolic Dysfunction and Bone Health

Vanessa Sherk, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Orthopedics
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
(Host: Roger Enoka enoka@colorado.edu)

October 28

Randomness in Biology:  Control of Stochasticity in Metazoan Gene Expression

Alexander R. Mendenhall, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology
School of Medicine
University of Washington
(Host: Chris Link linkc@colorado.edu)

November 4

Mechanics, Energetics, and Stability: Modifiable Factors to Preserve Independent Mobility in Old Age

Jason Franz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University
(Hosts: Roger Enoka enoka@colorado.edu / Rodger Kram rodger.kram@colorado.edu)

November 11

Functional Changes in Hypothalamic Circuitry Controlling Reproduction in a Mouse Model of Epilepsy

Catherine Christian, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Neuroscience Program
Affiliate, Beckman Institute
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(Host: Charles Hoeffer charles.hoeffer@colorado.edu)

November 18

A Role for Titin in Muscle Mechanics: Molecules to Movement

Kiisa Nishikawa, Ph.D.
Regents' Professor
Center for Bioengineering Innovation
Northern Arizona University
(Host: Alena Grabowski alena.grabowski@colorado.edu)

November 25 Fall Break - No colloquium
December 2

Screening for Regulators of BDNF Expression to Identify Neurotherapeutics

Kevin Jones, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
University of Colorado Boulder
(Host: Pei Tsai pei-san.tsai@colorado.edu)

December 9

Using Mouse Models to Understand the Mechanisms Underlying Neurological Diseases and Disorders, Sometimes it's Better to be Lucky than Good

Charles Hoeffer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Integrative Physiology
University of Colorado Boulder
(Host: Mark Opp mark.opp@colorado.edu)