Published: May 3, 2023

E Europe and Eurasia mapThe Russian Program, University of Colorado Boulder announces the official change of our program name, as well as our BA and MA degrees, to Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies. Our program acronym is now REEES (with three E’s). The four-letter course code for our culture courses taught in English will change to REES (with two E’s), while courses taught in Russian will stay with the RUSS course code. We introduced this change:

• in order to better recognize our geographical focus as broader than just Russia

• to acknowledge the concept of Russophone culture

• to demonstrate our commitment to decolonizing the curriculum at CU and nationally

• to show our deep commitment to principles of equity and inclusion

Questions or comments? Please write to