Published: March 1, 2013 By

Buffalo coca cola can 1984

This gem, with the 1984 football schedule on it, came in a box of eight cans, one from each Big 8 school — CU, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma and Oklahoma State.

The Big 8 Conference formed in 1907 as the Missouri Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Association and dissolved in 1996 when its members joined the newly created Big 12 Conference. If you remember these cans or have any information about them, please share your knowledge with us.

The Heritage Center is always interested in receiving donations representing CU student life, so rummage through your closets for memorabilia, scrapbooks or photographs and bring them in!

For information e-mail, go to or call 303-492-6329.

Photo courtesy Casey A. Cass