Published: April 18, 2016

CUI LogoOn April 16, the staff of The CU Independent brought home a slew of awards from a regional conference of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ), including the award for best digital-only student publication. This was the third year that The CU Independent has recieved that distinction at SPJ's region 9 conference, which brings together journalists from Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico and Utah.

The student news website was also a finalist for the best use of multimedia award.

Additionally, indvidual staff members were recognized for their work, with Kaley Laquea winning first place for online opinion and commentary. Here is a full list of the awards recieved by students from The CU Independent:


1st Place Awards

CU Independent Staff – Best Digital-Only Student Publication

Kaley Laquea – Online Opinion & Commentary


Finalist Awards

CU Independent Staff – Best Use of Multimedia

Ellis Arnold – Online News Reporting 

Emily McPeak – Online Opinion & Commentary

Sarah Farley, Alexis Clark and Danny Anderson – Online News Reporting

Ellis Arnold – Online Feature Reporting 

Jordyn Siemens – General News Reporting 

Alissa Noe – Sports Writing