Published: Sept. 24, 2014

University of Colorado Boulder Provost Russell Moore today announced the formation of a search committee to lead a national search for the founding dean of the new College of Media, Communication and Information.

The University of Colorado Board of Regents approved the new college in June and approved degree programs this month. The College of Media, Communication and Information is now accepting applications and will offer classes for new degrees starting in fall semester 2015.

“Over the last two decades, the rapid expansion of communication technologies and information gathering has transformed how we communicate, get our news and engage in local, regional and global commerce and society,” Moore said. “We’re looking for a dean who is visionary – a dean who will create an atmosphere where students not only learn what they need to be successful now, but also acquire the cutting-edge knowledge and insights to adapt to the changing communications landscape.”

Moore has appointed Anne Heinz, dean of Continuing Education and Professional Studies and associate vice chancellor for Summer Session, Outreach and Engagement, to chair the search committee.

Christopher Braider, who oversaw the effort to create the new college, is serving as the transitional dean for the 2014-15 academic year.

Heinz said the committee’s goal is to bring candidates on campus for interviews in the early part of the spring semester. The new dean would then begin his or her duties prior to fall semester 2015.

In addition to Heinz, faculty members on the search committee include Karen Ashcraft, professor of organizational communication; Reece Auguiste, assistant professor of film studies; Ken Bickers, professor of political science and director of the CU in DC program; John Drumheller, senior instructor in the College of Music; Harsha Gangadharbatla, associate professor and interim chair of the advertising, public relations and media design department for the College of Media, Communication and Information; Helmut Muller-Sievers, professor of Germanic and Slavic languages and literatures and director of the Center for Humanities and Arts; Leysia Palen, associate professor of computer science; and Karen Tracy, professor and chair of the communication department.

Additional members include Jeanette Chavez, Journalism and Mass Communication Advisory Board member; Deanna Haas, director of development for the College of Communication, Media and Information; Anne Melton, undergraduate journalism student and editor of the CU Independent; and Stephanie Preo, director of business operations for the College of Media, Communication and Information.

Questions and comments may be directed to Dean Anne Heinz, chair of the search committee, at or 303-492-2202.

Malinda Miller-Huey, CU-Boulder media relations, 303-492-3115