The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Associate has appointed the Site Team which will evaluate the University of Colorado at Boulder for continued accreditation in 2010. The HLC/NCA Site Team will visit the Boulder campus on February 22, 23 and 24, 2010. The members of the Site Team are listed below.


Dr. Nancy Ellen Talburt

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Administration Bldg 422
Fayetteville, AR 72701

Dr. Talburt’s areas of oversight and activity at Arkansas include academic policy, campus governance and the faculty handbook, teaching support, curricular change and catalogs, program review, accreditation and assessment, and student academic issues. She earned her PhD in English at Arkansas and did post-doc work at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard. She has chaired many site teams for the HLC. 

Dr. Mark S. Wrighton

Washington University in St. Louis
One Brookings Drive, Campus Box 1192
St. Louis, MO 63130-4899

Dr. Wrighton is a chemist with research interests in photochemistry and metal catalysts. He received his PhD from the California Institute of Technology and served on the faculty and as provost at MIT. Washington University is a private member of the American Association of Universities (AAU). 

Criterion 1: Mission and Integrity

Dr. W. Randy Smith 

Vice Provost for Academic Programs
Ohio State University
190 North Oval Mall
Columbus, OH 43210

Dr. Smith is responsible for academic learning outcomes, program review, curriculum development and review, and accreditation at Ohio State and he is liaison to the Ohio State Council on Academic Affairs. His PhD is in geography from York University in Toronto.

Dr. Lon Kaufman

Vice Provost for Planning and Programs
University of Illinois at Chicago
601 S. Morgan Street
2732 University Hall M/C 103
Chicago, IL 60607

Dr. Kaufman has responsibilities for graduate programs, undergraduate honors, undergraduate research, academic program approval and assessment. 

Criterion 2: Preparing for the Future

Dr. David C. Bosserman

Vice President of Administration & Finance
Oklahoma State University
206 Whitehurst
Stillwater, OK 74078

Dr. Bosserman has a national reputation in higher education financial management. He earned his PhD from the University of Idaho. 

Natalie Krawitz

Vice President for Finance and Administration
University of Missouri
215 University Hall
Columbia, MO 65211 

Ms. Krawitz is responsible for the university’s treasury, accounting, procurement, facilities planning and design, internal audit, and institutional research functions. She is active with the National Association of College and University Business Officers and the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities.

Dr. Morteza A. Rahimi

Vice President, Information Technology
Northwestern University
633 Clark Street
Evanston, IL 60208

Dr. Rahimi focuses on the use of information technology in advancing strategic goals for instruction, research, and administration and oversees an award-winning information technology organization. He earned his PhD in computer science from the University of Iowa.

Criterion 3: Student Learning and Effective Teaching

Dr. Elaine M. Klein

Assistant Dean & Director, Academic Planning, Program Review and Assessment
University of Wisconsin-Madison
307 E. South Hall, 1055 Bascom Mall
Madison, WI 53706

Dr. Klein oversees college assessment processes and academic program review in the College of Letters and Sciences. She also serves as liaison to the curriculum committee. She earned her PhD in English from Wisconsin. 

Dr. Ben A. van der Pluijm

Professor and Senior Counselor to the Provost
University of Michigan
Office of the Provost, 503 Thompson Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
573-882-6809 (fax)

Dr. van der Pluijm is also a professor of geology and professor of the environment. He is heading Michigan’s upcoming re-accreditation and he chairs the campus interdisciplinarity initiative.

Criterion 4: Acquisition, Discovery and Application of Knowledge

Dr. George E. Walker

Vice President of Research and Graduate Studies 
Cleveland State University 
2121 Euclid Avenue Cleveland, OH 44115-2214 
216-687-3595 (phone) 
216-687-9214 (fax)

Dr. Walker is a theoretical physicist with a specialty in graduate education and research. He began work at Cleveland State on Jan. 1, arriving from Florida International University where he was senior vice-president for research and dean of the graduate school. Formerly the vice president of research and the dean of the graduate school at the University of Indiana, Dr. Walker was the chair of the 2000 re-accreditation site team visit to CU-Boulder. 

Dr. Peggy F. Harrel

Director of Graduate Studies and Sponsored Research
University of Southern Indiana
8600 University Blvd
Evansville, IN 47712 

Dr. Rex D. Ramsier

Associate Provost, Policies, Procedures, Reviews; Professor, Physics and Chemistry
University of Akron
302 Buchtel Common, Buchtel Hall 106
Akron, OH 44325-4703

Dr. Ramsier is responsible for accreditation, program review, and assessment at Akron. He is a leader in bridging K-12 in science and technology and focuses on improving graduate courses and programs. He received his PhD in physics from the University of Pittsburgh. 

Criterion 5: Engagement and Service

Dr. Kenneth J. Moore

Professor Agronomy
Iowa State University
1571 Agronomy Hall
Ames, IA 50011-2035

Dr. Moore directs Iowa State’s MS in agronomy distance education program and is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He earned his PhD from Purdue. 

Dr. Thomas L. McPhail

Professor of Media Studies
University of Missouri – St. Louis
236 GSB, One University Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63121

Dr. McPhail is a Center for International Studies fellow and developer of the theory of international communication called the Theory of Electronic Colonialism. He appears as a media, communication and telecom critic in various international and national outlets and on numerous web sites. He earned his PhD at Purdue.