Published: April 20, 2014

Three faculty members from across the University of Colorado system have been named 2014 President’s Teaching Scholars, each recognized as an educator who skillfully integrates teaching and research at an exceptional level.

The title of President’s Teaching Scholar signifies CU’s highest recognition of excellence in and commitment to learning and teaching, as well as active, substantial contributions to scholarly work. CU President Bruce D. Benson solicits annual nominations of faculty for the designation, which is a lifetime appointment.

Associate Professor Helen Norton, associate dean for Academic Affairs at Colorado Law, was named from the Boulder campus.

Norton, who joined the Colorado Law faculty in 2007, previously served as Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Justice and as Director of Legal and Public Policy at the National Partnership for Women & Families. She has been honored with multiple Excellence in Teaching Awards. Her scholarly and teaching interests include constitutional law, civil rights, and employment discrimination law. She is frequently invited to testify before Congress and federal agencies on civil rights law and policy issues.

Her nominators, Professor Mimi Wesson and Dean Phil Weiser, noted in their letter that when Norton agreed to serve as the school’s associate dean, she declined the customary reduction of course load. Her commitment to teaching, they wrote, “has multiplied the credibility of her efforts to place teaching at the center of our shared mission, no matter what other contributions we may be making.”

Norton joins Associate Professor Lisa Keränen, director of Graduate Studies, Department of Communication, CU Denver College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Professor Raphael Sassower, UCCS Department of Philosophy, in this year's group of scholars.