Search Committee Named For Dean Of College Of Engineering And Applied Science

Published: Oct. 24, 2000

A search committee has been named to seek a replacement for Ross B. Corotis, dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Corotis resigned effective at the end of the current academic year, July 31, 2001. He will continue his teaching, research and scholarly work as the engineering college's Denver Business Challenge Professor beginning next academic year.

The committee, chaired by William Kaempfer, associate vice chancellor for academic affairs, is composed of university and community representatives. The process will begin with a national search that will include internal candidates. The committee's goal is to hire a new dean for the college by Aug. 1, 2001.

Bernadette Langbein, assistant to the vice chancellor for academic affairs, will staff the search committee and Garnett Tatum, director of the Department of Equal Opportunity, will serve as ex-officio member.

The search committee is looking for a dean with academic credentials, strong administrative capabilities, support of the faculty, interpersonal and consensus-building skills, intellectual leadership skills, commitment to excellence in teaching, research and service, a commitment to diversity and fund-raising capabilities.

Members of the search committee are: John Bennett, professor, department of computer science; Sally Blackman, professional research assistant, department of electrical and computer engineering; Chris Bowman, professor, department of chemical engineering; Jeff Forbes, professor, department of aerospace engineering sciences; Adam Harant, graduate student, department of chemical engineering; Nate Martin, senior; Jana Milford, professor, department of mechanical engineering; Ronald Pak, professor, department of civil, environmental and architectural engineering; Kristy Schloss, president, Schloss Engineering Equipment Inc.; George Sissel, chairman and CEO, Ball Corp.; and Mahesh Varanasi, professor, department of electrical and computer engineering.

The College of Engineering offers 11 undergraduate degrees in aerospace engineering sciences, architectural engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, electrical engineering, electrical and computer engineering, environmental engineering, mechanical engineering, computer science, applied mathematics and engineering physics.

Additional information about academic programs, services and faculty can be found on the Web at