Published: May 8, 1997

Four faculty and staff members of the University of Colorado at Boulder College of Engineering and Applied Science have received annual college-wide awards for outstanding achievement for 1997.

The Charles Hutchinson Memorial Teaching Award was presented to Professor Delores Etter of the electrical and computer engineering department. Etter was honored for authoring college-level textbooks and for her effective classroom teaching.

She also was cited for her pioneering efforts in the development of distance learning and virtual educational techniques and for her support of professional activities. She is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the American Society for Engineering Education.

The Faculty Research Award was presented to Professor Jacques Pankove of electrical and computer engineering for his leadership in the understanding, technological development, and evolution of semiconductors.

Pankove invented an optoelectronic neuron and gallium nitride silicon carbide high-temperature transistor, a rugged device that can operate at more than 900 degrees Fahrenheit. The device is expected to have a major impact on the capabilities of a wide variety of electronics that operate under adverse conditions such as at the bottom of oil wells and on the tops of automobile engines.

The Max S. Peters Faculty Service Award was presented to Professor Michael Lightner, also of electrical and computer engineering. Lightner has been active in CU-Boulder campus faculty governance and has played a leading role in diversity and harassment training and awareness in the engineering college.

Lightner also has served as president of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society and has chaired numerous conferences and technical committees. He was the 1995 recipient of the Charles Hutchinson Memorial Teaching Award and the college’s 1996 John and Mercedes Peebles Innovation in Teaching Award.

The Outstanding Staff Award was presented to Mae Jean Ruehlman of electrical and computer Engineering. First given in 1990, this award honors a staff member for outstanding contributions to the college. Ruehlman was cited for her 34 years of “outstanding service to the College and the University."