CU-Boulder Faculty Assembly Presents 1996-97 Excellence Awards

Published: May 4, 1997

Twelve CU-Boulder faculty members received the highest honor given by their peers May 7 when they were named winners of the 1996-97 Awards for Excellence from the CU-Boulder Faculty Assembly.

Up to four recipients are nominated and selected by their colleagues each spring in each of three categories: teaching, service, and research, scholarly or creative work. Each award includes $3,000.

Excellence in Teaching awards went to Brian Argrow of aerospace engineering, Daniel Barth of psychology, Cathy Comstock of the Farrand Academic Program and comparative literature and humanities, and Diane Williams of Spanish and Portuguese.

Excellence in Service awards went to Clifford Calhoun of law, Richard Devin of theater and dance, Richard Kraft of education and Jeffry Mitton of environmental, population and organismic biology.

Excellence in Research, Creative and Scholarly Work awards went to Richard McIntosh of molecular, cellular and developmental biology, W. Fred Ramirez of chemical engineering, Thomas T. Veblen of geography and James Markusen of economics.

The awards were presented during the annual CU-Boulder Faculty Assembly awards ceremony and reception.