CU-Boulder Alumni Association Names 1997 Award Winners

Published: April 24, 1997

Ceremonies honoring seven winners of the University of Colorado at Boulder Alumni Association’s 67th annual awards will be held May 15 in Old Main Chapel on campus.

The George Norlin Award to distinguished alumni for lifetime achievement and devotion to the betterment of society will be presented to Les Fowler of Boulder and Alfred Harrell of Denver.

Fowler, a 1948 business graduate, was honored for his contribution to higher education while serving more than two decades in the Colorado Legislature and for volunteering his skills as a CU golf coach.

Harrell, a 1966 English graduate and a Denver County Court judge, began a support group to mentor young minority lawyers and served as vice president of the Denver Bar Association. He organized Colorado’s Inns of Court system, a group of lawyers and judges that promotes civility and ethical responsibility in the practice of law.

Boulder residents Jack DeBell, founder and director of CU-Boulder’s nationally recognized recycling program, and William Deno, campus architect responsible for campus and facilities planning and oversight of buildings and grounds design, will receive the Robert L. Stearns Award.

The award recognizes faculty and staff members for extraordinary achievement or service to the university. DeBell is a 1984 graduate in psychology and Deno received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in architecture in 1972 and 1973.

Kimbirly Orr of Sherman Oaks, Calif., and Clayton “Swede” Johnson of Boulder will receive Alumni Recognition Awards for service to CU. Orr is a 1983 graduate in marketing and Johnson received degrees in political science (1960) and law (1963).

State Sen. James Rizzuto, D-Swink, will be presented the 1997 Legislative Recognition Award for his efforts on behalf of Colorado higher education.

The 67th annual alumni award ceremonies will begin at 7 p.m. in Old Main Chapel. The event is free and open to the public. Because of space limitations, anyone planning to attend is asked to make a reservation by calling (303) 492-8484.