E-mail is an official means of communication with students from CU-Boulder administrators and faculty. All students are issued a no-cost CU-Boulder e-mail account and are expected to check their messages on a frequent and consistent basis in order to stay current with university-related communications.
In addition, Summer Session students are required to follow all University of Colorado policies including the Colorado Creed and the Copyright and File Sharing. A complete list can be found in the University of Colorado Boulder Catalog.
The Buff OneCard is your official student ID, to be used as long as you are a student at CU-Boulder. The card is official verification that you are eligible for student privileges. It allows you access to Campus Dining and Printing, the Student Recreation Center, the libraries, Wardenburg Health Center, the UMC Grill, athletic tickets and events, and RTD local and regional buses.
Your first Buff OneCard is paid for when you pay the new student matriculation fee. Replacement cards cost $25 each. If you are a registered nondegree student, you may purchase a Buff OneCard for $25.
The Campus Card Office is located in the Center for Community, Room N180, just east of Regent Hall, and is open from 8 am to 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday.
To report a lost or stolen card 24 hours a day, call 303-492-1212 immediately to avoid unauthorized use of your card. Never give or lend your Buff OneCard to anyone else.
For more information visit the Buff OneCard website or call 303-492-0355.
The Veteran Services Office serves the needs of student veterans on campus as well as military service members attending CU. The office provides “one-stop shopping” for everything from veteran educational benefits to counseling and program information. Veteran Services supplements other campus units by placing special emphasis on the recruitment and retention of veterans at CU-Boulder. The office is located on the fourth floor of the Center for Community in room S482. For more information visit the Veterans Services website or call 303-735-3028.
For tuition purposes, new students are classified as either resident (in-state) or nonresident (out-of-state) on the basis of information provided on their application for admission and other relevant information. If your parents do not live in Colorado, and if you will not be 23 years of age by the first day of class for the session for which you are applying, you must submit a petition for in-state classification (see address below).
Petitioning for In-State Classification
Current or former CU-Boulder students who believe they are eligible for a change to resident status, must submit a petition with documentation. For the necessary petition forms and an explanation of the Colorado tuition classification statute, or if you have questions about your status as an in-state or out-of-state student, call 303-492-0907, visit the Registrar's Office Residency and Tuition Classification website, send an e-mail to email@example.com, or write to:
University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder, CO 80309-0068
If you are a student at another CU campus, address your inquiries to the appropriate Office of Admissions and Records.
Be prepared to pay your tuition and fee bill in full by the tuition and fee payment deadline. If residency is approved after this date, you will receive a refund.
Further information on tuition, fees, and deposits is available from the Bursar’s Office, 303-492-5381. The Board of Regents reserves the right to change tuition without notice.
Parking permits are available for vehicles, motorcycles, mopeds, and scooters. Maymester permits are available for purchase online or can be purchased at the PTS Business Office located on the main campus at 1050 Regent Drive.
Parking payment machines and meters are available throughout campus; some allow up to 10 hours parking time. Many visitor parking lots on campus, including Euclid AutoPark (EAP), have a flat fee on weekends, and weekdays after 5 pm. Night and weekend am/pm permits may be purchased for those who need parking outside of normal business hours.
Fee-paying students can ride any of the RTD local or regional bus routes, including the light rail, and the SkyRide bus to and from Denver International Airport. To purchase a discounted bus pass for the summer, call 303-492-8308. View the bus schedules.
Summer is the perfect time to ride a bike in Colorado! Be sure to register your bike with the campus bike station if you park it on campus; registration costs $10 and grants you access to the bike station services. For bike registration and summer hours call 303-735-2705.
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) of 1974, as amended, sets forth requirements regarding the privacy of student records. FERPA governs the release of these records (known as education records) maintained by an educational institution, as well as access to these records. This law applies to K–12 as well as postsecondary education.
College students are permitted to inspect their own education records. School officials may not disclose personally identifiable information about students, nor permit inspection of their records, without written permission from the student unless such action is covered by exceptions permitted by the Act.
View the University of Colorado Boulder’s FERPA policy.
Students who require accommodation must contact Disability Services for an evaluation. If you qualify for an accommodation because of a disability, please submit the letter from Disability Services to your instructor at the beginning of the class so that your needs may be addressed. Disability Services determines accommodations based on documented disabilities. Visit the Disability Services website for more information, contact them at 303-492-8671, or visit their office in the Center for Community, Room N200.