»About »People

About the Center for STEM Learning

Executive Board

Phil DiStefano, Chancellor, University of Colorado Boulder. DiStefano administers the academic policies and programs of the university and provides intellectual leadership for excellence and teaching, recruitment, development and promotion of faculty, deans, and other academic leaders. He also works to implement diversity plans. DiStefano also served as CU-Boulder’s Interim Chancellor from January 2005 to July 2006 and is former Provost and former Dean of the School of Education.


Russell Moore, Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, is a Professor of Integrative Physiology and an adjunct professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of Colorado Denver. He was appointed as Vice Chancellor for Research in 2006 and Interim Vice Chancellor for Research in 2009. He began his appointment as Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs in October 2010. From 1994-2001, he co-chaired the Flagship 2030 Task Force on Research, Scholarship, and Creative Works. His research interests focus on adaptations of the heart to physiological and pathological stress, particularly when related to heart failure.


Frances Draper, Vice Chancellor for Strategic Relations, manages communications between the university, government, businesses, and the community for the University of Colorado Boulder. She provides the Chancellor with leadership advice on communications and external university relations. She also works to unite campus-wide efforts to implement CU-Boulder's Flagship 2030 plan. Prior to her appointment, Draper served as executive director of the Boulder Economic Council. She holds a BA in Political Science fro Stanford University and an MBA with emphasis in marketing from the University of California Berkeley.


Steven Leigh, Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, was appointed in July 2012. Before his appointment, he served as Dean of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. He received his BA in Anthropology from Northwestern University, his MA in Anthropology from the University of Tennessee, and his PhD from Northwestern University. His research focuses on human and primate evolution and integrates data across numerous fields including anatomy, genetics, and archaeology. He has previously held teaching and research appointments at the State University of New York, Stony Brook, and at Northwestern University.


Lorrie Shepard, Dean of the School of Education, a professor of education and chair of the Research and Evaluation Methodology program area at CU Boulder. Her research focuses on psychometrics and the use and misuse of tests in education settings. Technical topics include validity theory, standard setting, and statistical models for detecting test bias. Dr. Shepard is a past president of the American Educational Research Association and past president of the National Council in Measurement in Education. She was elected to the National Academy of Education in 1992 and served as Vice President of the NAS. She has been editor of the Journal of Educational Measurement and the American Educational Research Journal and interim editor of Educational Researcher. In 1999 she won NCME’s Award for Career Contributions to educational Measurement. Dr. Shepard currently serves on the National Research Council’s Board on Testing and Assessment.


Robert Davis, Dean of the College of Engineering & Applied Science, has held his appointment since 2002. He received his BS in Chemical Engineering from the University of California, Davis, and his MS and PhD degrees in Chemical Engineering from Stanford University. His research and teaching interests include biotechnology, complex fluids, and membrane separations. He has received countless awards and recognitions including the National Science Foundation's Presidential Young Investigator Award, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. He also holds the Tisone Endowed Chair in Engineering.


John Stevenson, Dean of the Graduate School, has also been a Professor of English since 1982. His emphasis is in British Literature of the eighteenth century, and many of his publications on the subject have garnered national and international recognition. His is the former Chair of the English Department, and the former Interim Director of the Program for Writing ad Rhetoric. Stevenson also served as chair of the Flagship 2030 Task Force on Graduate Education in 2008. He was appointed to his current position in March, 2011.