Published: Aug. 1, 2020

Join us for some inspiring sessions led by Build a Better Book Network Partners as we explore new ways to implement BBB projects. From integrating BBB into classrooms and curriculum, to meeting the current challenges of BBB in remote and on-line learning environments, these webinars will get you thinking creatively about your BBB programs for the upcoming year.

REGISTER HERE to receive an invitation to join each webinar. Sessions are scheduled for Thursdays, July 9 - August 13, 2020 at 10am MST (9am PST, 11am CST, 12pm EST). No session scheduled for July 23.

July 9, 2020 
Creating a BBB Course Elective Rachel Brockman (Trussville City Schools)
Discover how a BBB facilitator set up a year-long elective-class and built empathy, built capacity, built relationships, and built resources with elective-class students for their school’s visually impaired population. Leave with a principal-pitch-meeting planning sheet, a pacing guide template, and a new network of support to start your own elective.

July 16, 2020
Virtual BBB - Online & Blended Learning 
April Chamberlain (Trussville City Schools)
Learn how a Build a Better Book organizer facilitated a BBB project using digital tools for managing in face to face, blended or virtual environment. Digital tools used was Google Classroom, Hyperdocs, Screencastify, and Flipgrid. You will explore examples used and leave with templates to help you facilitate your Build a Better Book project no matter what the school will look like in the fall.

July 30, 2020 
Connecting to the BVI Community & Remote Learning /
 Neal Mckenzie (Sonoma County Office of Education) & Eli Sanchez (Earle Baum Center)
What is it like for blind and low vision people working and learning in an online environment? Find out how two BBB partners adapted their formal and informal programs to fit their student's needs and keep them connected during this time of social distancing and Zoom meetings. 

August 6, 2020
3D Giving Day & 3D Pen Projects 
Phyllis Davis (Library Station) & Mindy Brodecki (Springfield Public Schools)
Get ready for 3D Giving Day on December 1, 2020! Whether to launch your BBB project or as a culminating project, 3D Giving Day is a great way to connect student makers with the BVI community. Find out more about the event, ideas for planning a program, and adapting books with 3D pen projects. 

NEW DATE! September 24, 2020
Building Relationships and Co-Designing
 / Janet Hollingsworth (Washington Leadership Academy) & Abraham Orozco (Heart of Los Angeles)
Join us for a panel discussion on how to build in-person and online relationships between students and members of the BVI community through open discussions on what it means to collaborate with differently abled individuals and the difference between working with vs. working for someone, .