NPHC logoThe National Pan-Hellenic Council Inc. is composed of the nine historically African-American fraternities and sororities. It was organized in May 1930 at Howard University in Washington D.C. The stated purposed of the organization is: “Unanimity of thought and action, as far as possible, in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.”

NPHC at CU Boulder

These organizations are currently recognized on our campus. For information on recruitment, contact Guillermo Ramírez.

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. was founded on December 4, 1906, on the campus of Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, by seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of brotherhood among African descendants in this country. Alpha Phi Alpha is the first intercollegiate Greek-lettered fraternity established for African-American men still active today. The founders of Alpha Phi Alpha and early leaders of the fraternity succeeded in laying a firm foundation for Alpha Phi Alpha’s principles of scholarship, fellowship, good character and the uplifting of humanity.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. was founded on January 13, 1913, by 22 collegiate women at Howard University in Washington, D.C. Delta Sigma Theta is an organization of college educated women committed to the constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the Black community. The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five Point Programmatic Thrust of economic development, educational development, physical and mental health, political awareness and involvement and international awareness and involvement.

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. was founded on January 5, 1911, on the campus of Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana, by 10 African-American college men. Kappa Alpha Psi was founded on five objectives: to unite college men of culture, patriotism and honor in a bond of fraternity; to encourage honorable achievement in every field of human endeavor; to promote the spiritual, social, intellectual and moral welfare of members; to assist the aims and purposes of colleges and universities; to inspire service in the public interest.

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc. was founded on November 17, 1911, at Howard University in Washington D.C., by three undergraduate college men and one faculty advisor. Omega Psi Phi is the first African-American fraternity to be founded at a historically black university. Since its founding in 1911, Omega Psi Phi’s stated purpose has been to attract and build a strong and effective force of men dedicated to its cardinal principles of manhood, scholarship, perseverance and uplift.