Instructor's view of a lecture hall of students

ASSETT Seeks Faculty to Champion Teaching Quality Initiative

Nov. 16, 2020

UPDATE: the Faculty Fellows 21-22 cohort has been filled.​ ASSETT’s annual call for Faculty Fellows is now open, and we’re excited to be supporting a college-wide initiative to acknowledge and elevate teaching quality! Recently, Dean Jim White announced a plan for departments in the College of Arts & Sciences to...

Mona Attwa

Faculty Fellows Project Enhances Online Arabic Courses

Nov. 16, 2020

Mona Attwa's Qahwa Arabi platform makes learning accessible and appealing for remote students Mona Attwa , an Arabic instructor in the Department of Asian Languages and Civilizations, for realizing a long-time goal with the production of the online platform Qahwa Arabi . The platform went live on August 23. Mona...

Coming soon stay tuned

New & Improved Faculty Fellows Program -- Coming Soon to a Zoom Screen Near You!

Oct. 12, 2020

A call for participation in ASSETT’s Faculty Fellows program will be announced in our November newsletter. We have been busy updating the program and working in collaboration with others in the College of Arts & Sciences to find new ways to meet the needs of the college. The ASSETT Faculty...

Group photo of 2020 Faculty Fellows in the CASE building

ASSETT Welcomes 2020-2021 Faculty Fellows!

Feb. 27, 2020

Front row: Amanda McAndrew (ASSETT, facilitator), Elizabeth Grulke (Math), Karen Jacobs (ENGL), Leilani Arthurs (GEOL), Jennifer Stempien (GEOL) Back row: Sara Myers (ASSETT, facilitator), Elizabeth Anderman (Farrand RAP), Olga Vasile (FRIT), Dawn Colley (PWR), Anthony Abiragi (PWR), Berit Jany (GSLL), Beth Osnes (ASSETT/THRD, facilitator) Not pictured: Adrian Shin (PSCI). Congratulations...

Meeting of the 2018 faculty fellows

Faculty Fellows Application Deadline Extended to Dec. 8

Dec. 2, 2019

The deadline to apply for the 2020–21 cohort of Faculty Fellows has been extended in light of the recent weather-related campus closures. To apply, complete the online application and ask your department chair to submit a letter of support no later than December 8, 2019 . Further details and submission...

Beth Osnes

Letter from the Advisor - November 2019

Nov. 13, 2019

As the faculty advisor for ASSETT, I invite you to consider applying to be a part of the ASSETT’s Faculty Fellows Program's 2020/2021 cohort . As part of this supportive community, you will be with a group working together to explore innovative ways you can reach your course learning objectives...

Faculty Fellows engaged in an interactive design session

Apply by Dec. 1 for 2020 Faculty Fellows

Nov. 4, 2019

The ASSETT Faculty Fellows program brings together faculty from the College of Arts & Sciences to promote continuous improvement of the undergraduate learning experience. With support from ASSETT staff, Faculty Fellows serve as mentors, leaders, and liaisons to address needs and challenges within their individual departments. Fellowships require a three-semester...

Screenshot of the LURA 2019 blog

2019 LURA Winners Announced

May 2, 2019

The 2019 Linguistics Undergraduate Research Award (LURA) blogs have been posted on the Department of Linguistics website. Professor Kira Hall developed the LURA program while participating in the 2017-18 ASSETT Faculty Fellows cohort . The 17 students honored were nominated for innovative research conducted in an undergraduate linguistics class during...

Group photo of the 2019-2020 Faculty Fellows

Meet the 2019-2020 Faculty Fellows

March 28, 2019

Front row: Carrie Vodehnal (ENVS), Alina Van Nelson (FRIT), Blair Young (ASSETT), Nabilah Carlon (CHEM), Mona Attwa (ALC), Lee Roberson (MATH). Back Row: Amanda McAndrew (ASSETT), Joseph Timmer (MATH), Andy Martin (EBIO/ASSETT), Rachael Simonetta (ENGL), Eliza Smith (FRIT). Not Pictured: Michael Klymkowsky (MCDB), Becky Flowers (GEOL), June Gruber (PSYC). Congratulations...

2017 ASSETT Faculty Fellows. List of people pictured is in the image caption.

Welcome New Faculty Fellows

Feb. 17, 2017

[back row] Giorgio Corda , Samuel Flaxman, Eve-Lyn Hinckley, David Budd, Brian Zaharatos, Kristopher Karnauskas, Andy Martin, Lonni Pearce, David Paradis, [front row] Jen Walentas Lewon, Jia Shi, Nicole Jobin, Amanda McAndrew, Pamela Harvey, Kira Hall, McKell Carter Carston Congratulations and welcome to our first cohort of Faculty Fellows. We...