Any student who completes registration agrees to pay the University of Colorado Boulder according to the payment terms documented in this section and on the Bursar's Office website. The student is responsible for payment by the published due date, regardless of payment source (e.g., parent, third party, scholarship, etc.). Late payment results in late and finance charges being applied to the student’s account.
Tuition and fee rates are on the Bursar's Office website. Expenses vary depending on your program of study, your residency classification, and the number of credit hours in which you are enrolled. Students in a double-degree program are assessed tuition for the college or school with the higher tuition rate. View the sample budget of estimated expenses. You can also use the online tuition and fees estimator to estimate tuition and fee costs.
Tuition and fee bills are only online. Bill availability dates and due dates are listed below and on the Bursar’s Office website. When bills are issued, students receive an email notification at their Colorado.edu email address. They can click the link in the email to view and pay the bill.
If you do not receive an email notification or do not check your Colorado.edu email, you are still responsible for paying your bill on time. Find out more about CUBill&Pay on the Bursar's Office website.
Students can designate parents and others (up to five people) as authorized payers. Authorized payers can view, print, and pay the bill online and they also receive email reminders when bills are available online. Students are responsible for making sure their bill is paid regardless of who is authorized as a payer. Authorized payers access CUBill&Pay via the Bursar’s Office website or by clicking on the link in the email that is sent to them.
All payments are expected to be made on time on the due date. Online payments can be made on the due date up until midnight Mountain Daylight Time, while other payments must be received in the Bursar’s Office by close of business. Postmarks are not honored. All late payments are subject to a late charge (up to $50) and finance charges of 1 percent per month on the unpaid balance. See Failure to Make a Payment section for more details. All checks containing restrictive endorsements are null and void and nonbinding on the university.
You can pay online, in person, by mail, or by wire transfer. We accept cash, checks, e-checks (Internet payments from conventional checking or savings accounts), and credit/debit cards. (A nonrefundable 2.75% service fee applies to credit/debit card payments.)
For details on payment methods, go to the Bursar's Office website.
Payment due dates are the fifth of every month. Bills are available around the second Tuesday of each month. Dates are tentative and subject to change. See the Bursar's Office website for the most up-to-date information.
|Tuition and fees are available online around the second Tuesday of each month
|May 12||June 5*|
|June 9||July 5*|
|July 14||August 5*|
|*If the fifth falls on a weekend or holiday, payment in person or by mail is due in the Bursar's Office by the close of business Mountain Time on the last business day before the fifth. Postmarks are not honored. If paying online, payment is due before midnight Mountain Time on the fifth.|
If your check or Internet payment is returned from your financial institution for any reason, regardless of the amount, it is considered nonpayment and nonpayment penalties will be applied. You are subject to a late payment charge, a one percent (1%) finance charge per month on the unpaid balance, and a financial hold will be placed on your account. Accounts with repeated return payment transactions will require payment with cash, certified (guaranteed) funds, or money orders only. In addition to the amount due to the university, a $20 fee will be assessed for each payment returned. If your student account remains unpaid and is referred to a private collection agency, you may be responsible for collection agency costs, expenses, and fees allowed under Colorado law and incurred by the university in such collection efforts. Inquiries concerning returned payments should be directed to the Student Debt Management (SDM) department in the Bursar’s Office at 303-492-5571 or toll free at 800-925-9844.
If you do not pay your bill, miss payment deadlines, or submit payment that is returned from your financial institution, you are subject to late fees, finance charges, and financial holds. In addition, if you are registered for a future term, you are at risk of being dropped from those future classes.
Financial holds prevent you from adding classes, registering for any future terms, receiving a diploma, or receiving an academic transcript of work at the university.
A late payment charge per semester in addition to a finance charge of 1 percent per month on the unpaid balance is assessed according to the following schedule:
|Balance Due||Late Charge|
|$99.99 or less||$5|
|$900 and over||$50|
Past due accounts are referred to the Student Debt Management (SDM) department for collection after the end of the semester. Past due finance charges of 1 percent (1%) per month (annual percentage rate of 12%) will be assessed on the unpaid balance less any payments or credits.
To dispute a tuition and mandatory fee debt, you must make a formal appeal to the Bursar’s Office by the last day of finals. Disputes will only be considered under extenuating circumstances, such as natural disaster (fire, flood), death in the family, medical, or unexpected financial crisis. Official documentation must be provided to substantiate the circumstances. For more information, go to the Bursar's Office website, call 303-492-5381, or email email@example.com.
Colorado law requires the university to place all delinquent accounts with a private collection agency. The SDM department places delinquent accounts after six months, unless payments are being made or there exists a satisfactory repayment agreement with SDM in the Bursar’s Office. The private collection agency reports all past due accounts to national credit bureaus. Financial holds remain on your student account until the balance is paid in full. Establishing a repayment agreement does not result in removal of holds. If your account is referred to a private collection agency, you may be responsible for collection agency costs, fees, expenses, reasonable attorneys' fees, and court costs associated with collecting or enforcing past due student accounts as allowed under Colorado law.
Refunds can result from dropping classes, getting financial aid, or other adjustments to your account. Refunds are directly deposited into your bank account within 2–3 business days (processing times vary depending on the bank). Always check with your bank to confirm the deposit before spending your refund. Setting up direct deposit for tuition and fee refunds is mandatory for all students. For more information, go to the Bursar's Office website. No refunds are processed on June 30.
Note: You may be billed after receiving a refund if you add classes, enroll in a wait-listed class, or receive a financial aid adjustment.
If you are expecting a financial aid refund at the beginning of the semester, a refund will be deposited into your bank account approximately three days prior to the first day of classes, provided you have set up direct deposit and financial aid processing is complete. First summer financial aid refund dates are as follows. These dates are tentative and subject to change.
|Session||Credit Balance On||Refund in Bank
(on or around)
|Maymester (session M) plus other sessions||May 4||May 9|
|A, C, D||May 26||May 30|
|B only||June 29||July 4|
|Augmester (session G only)||July 27||July 31|
If you qualify for a refund after withdrawing from CU-Boulder (including if you participate in StayConnected or Time Off), it is directly deposited into your bank account or mailed to you approximately four weeks after you withdraw. Set up direct deposit in MyCUInfo before you leave or update your permanent address to be sure you receive your refund.
You are charged for all added credit hours. You are not charged for wait-listed classes. Be aware of the deadlines for dropping and adding to avoid being charged for classes you wish to drop. See the Drop/Add Deadlines chart for details.
Note: If you are dropping all your courses, refer to the following withdrawal information.
Financial penalties may be assessed for withdrawing from all of your summer courses. Nonattendance does not constitute withdrawal and you may still be charged for your classes unless you officially withdraw before the published deadlines. See the Summer Withdrawal Assessment Schedule for details.
The state of Colorado provides state tax dollar support for undergraduate higher education through a stipend-based program called the College Opportunity Fund (COF).
To receive funds, resident undergraduate students must complete two steps: (1) apply once on the College Opportunity Fund website and (2) authorize use of the stipend in MyCUInfo. If both of these steps are taken, the $75 per credit hour COF stipend is applied to the student's account for each term the student has authorized COF. Funding is available at any participating college or university in Colorado for up to a total of 145 undergraduate credit hours.
For instructions, see Apply for and Authorize COF.
In addition to tuition, students must pay fees each semester. For a detailed description and a list of these fees, go to the Bursar's Office website.
Mandatory student fees include:
Note: Graduate students who are B, D, or E status are charged base fees and do not have access to the Recreation Center.
Expenses for Summer Session at CU-Boulder vary, depending on your residency, where you live, and your personal needs and interests. The table below shows estimated expenses for an undergraduate student taking 6 credit hours in the College of Arts and Sciences during the summer 2015 10-week summer session.
Note: If you are an undergraduate Colorado resident, this tuition figure assumes that you are eligible for, have applied for, and have authorized the use of the College Opportunity Fund (COF).
For payment options, go to the Bursar's Office website.
|University Educational Expenses (2015 estimates)||In-State1||Out-of-State1||International|
|Estimated Additional Expenses (2015 estimates)|
|Room and Board Off Campus||$1,978.00||$1,978.00||$1,978.00|
|Books and Supplies||450.00||450.00||450.00|
|1Classification of students as in-state or out-of-state for tuition purposes is governed by state law. Detailed information is available in the Office of the Registrar.
2Tuition figures are based on 6 credit hours of course work in the College of Arts and Sciences. In-state rates assume application of the $75/credit hour College Opportunity Fund stipend. Out-of-state student rate varies depending on the year of entry to CU (see Out-of-State Tuition Guarantee). Tuition rates for other colleges and schools can be found on the Bursar's Office website.
3A nonrefundable new student fee for new degree students is assessed at the time of initial registration only and is not included in the sample budget.
4Out-of-pocket estimate for 10 weeks. Continuing students who have student health insurance for spring semester 2015 are automatically covered for summer session. A separate summer session health insurance plan is available to students not already covered.