Alumni Awards logo

Thank you for joining us in celebrating the 87th Annual Alumni Award winners! If you missed the ceremony you can see the Award winners bios and videos below.

2016 Alumni Award Winners

George Norlin Award

Dave GrusinDave Grusin (Mus’56)

Dave Grusin’s achievements could make anyone feel like an underachiever. It’s among his gifts that he never does.

Learn more

W. Harold FlowersW. Harold “Sonny” Flowers, Jr. (Engl’67; Law’71) 

W. Harold “Sonny” Flowers didn’t have many fellow black classmates at Boulder High in the early 1960s, but he found community...

Learn more

Kathryn TobeyKathryn Tobey (ChemEngr'84; MS'94) 

Kathryn Tobey had pictured herself in the petrochemical industry. With oil prices slumping as commencement neared in 1984...

Learn more

Alumni Recognition Award

2016 Alumni Recognition Award Winner Ed Reinhardt Ed Reinhardt (A&S ex’87)

It was Sept. 15, 1984 and CU football was playing in Oregon. Buffs tight end Ed Reinhardt took the ball on a routine play near the game’s end.

Learn more

Michele RitterMichele Ritter (Anth'81) 

A 1981 graduate in anthropology and history known to friends as “Mikhy,” Michele Ritter has built an inspiring career in education...

Learn more

Gary AndersonGary Anderson (MechEngr’69)

Gary Anderson worked hard for his CU Boulder degree, and not just in the classroom: Student by day, he drove a forklift at night to support his young family.

Learn more

Kalpana Chawla Award

Nathan SeidleNathan Seidle (ElEngr'04) 

Nathan Seidle could be a poster child for the start-up era. In 2003, as a CU Boulder engineering student, he opened a one-man business reselling hard-to-find circuit boards from Eastern Europe. 

Learn more

David WolfDavid Wolf (Law, MBA'01) 

It didn’t take David Wolf long to start repaying the debt he felt to CU Boulder: In 2001, just after graduating with law and MBA degrees, he established a scholarship at the Leeds School of Business.

Learn more

Robert L. Stearns Award

Kathy EscamillaKathy Escamilla (Span’71)

Kathy Escamilla has dedicated three decades to studying, educating and advocating for America’s bilingual students...

Learn more

James WhiteJames W. C. White

Jim White is a trailblazing research scientist who couples deep expertise with broad interests and further distinguishes himself as an amiable colleague, first-rate...

Learn more

Forever Buffs Student Award

Floyd PierceFloyd Pierce (ApMath, Econ'17) 

Floyd Pierce III knows how to make things happen and spread joy while doing it. “Floyd Pierce is an eternal optimist...

Learn more

Leanne Skupa Lee Award

Colin FinchColin Finch (PolSci’05) 

As both student and proud alum, Colin Finch, a senior project manager at software firm Four Winds Interactive, has been involved in...

Learn more