Published: Feb. 2, 2018

It's no surprise that the scholarly achievements reached by CU Boulder faculty span far beyond campus, receiving recognition by national and even global organizations and academic communities. In an inaugural campuswide event Jan. 29, Chancellor Philip DiStefano, Provost Russell Moore, the Office of Faculty Affairs and the campus community recognized numerous faculty members at home, highlighting external awards received in 2016–17. 

2018 Faculty Awards Celebration honorees

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

  • Alison M. Jaggar, Professor, Women and Gender Studies
  • Karolin Luger, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow

  • Owen Mason, Research Associate, Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research
  • Markus B. Raschke, Professor, Physics

American Council of Learned Societies Fellow

  • Jill Harrison, Associate Professor, Sociology

Fulbright Fellows

  • Fredy Gonzalez, Assistant Professor, History
  • Rachel Lehr, Research Associate, Geography
  • Andrew Schwartz, Professor, University of Colorado Law School

James Craig Watson Medal – National Academy of Sciences

  • Timothy Brown, Senior Research Assistant, Center for Astrophysics and Space Astronomy

John Fritz Medal – American Association of Engineering

  • Frank Kreith, Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering

National Academy of Engineering

  • Daniel J. Scheeres, Distinguished Professor, Aerospace Engineering Sciences

National Academy of Inventors Fellows

  • Christopher Bowman, Distinguished Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Leslie Leinwand, Distinguished Professor, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Sloan Research Fellowship – Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

  • Rahul Mahajan Nandkishore, Assistant Professor, Physics

Haley Space Flight Awards – American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

  • James Voss, Scholar in Residence, Aerospace Engineering Sciences

Linda S. Cordell Prize – School for Advanced Research

  • Scott Graham Ortman, Assistant Professor, Anthropology

Massry Prize – Meira and Shaul G. Massry Foundation

  • Norman Pace, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

National Academy of Education Fellow

  • Allison Atteberry, Assistant Professor, School of Education

Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers

  • Anne Elizabeth Perring, Research Associate, CIRES
  • Frank J. Vernerey, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering