Published: April 3, 2017
2016 Hazel Barnes Prize awardee Michele Moses, School of Education

2016 Hazel Barnes Prize awardee and School of Education professor Michele Moses

The 2017 Boulder Faculty Assembly (BFA) Excellence Awards will be presented in a ceremony on Tuesday, April 4, at 4:30 p.m. at the University Memorial Center (UMC).

Excellence Awards will be presented in three categories: Excellence in Teaching & Pedagogy; Excellence in Leadership & Service; and Excellence in Research, Scholarly & Creative Work.

If you go
Who: Faculty and staff
What: BFA Excellence Awards featuring keynote address by 2016 Hazel Barnes winner
When: Tuesday, April 4, 4:30 to 7 p.m.
Where: University Memorial Center, room 235

The ceremony will feature a keynote presentation by 2016 Hazel Barnes Prize awardee Michele Moses from the School of Education. A reception allowing for attendees to share personal congratulations with each of the award winners will follow.

The campus created the BFA Excellence Awards in the early 1980s to recognize outstanding work and concerted effort in advancing the mission of the University and the academy at large. All members of the Boulder faculty, including instructors, are eligible for nomination.

These prestigious awards are made possible through financial support from the chancellor, enabling the BFA to grant each recipient a $3,000 monetary award.

The Hazel Barnes Prize is the largest and most prestigious single faculty award funded by the University of Colorado Boulder. It was established in 1991 by former Chancellor James Corbridge in honor of Philosophy Professor Emerita Hazel Barnes to recognize "the enriching interrelationship between teaching and research."

Hazel Barnes, one of our campus' most accomplished scholars, received a BFA Excellence in Teaching Award in 1983.