Photograph of Phil Weiser, Professor
Professor of Law • Colorado Attorney General

University of Colorado Law School
404 Wolf Law Building
401 UCB
Boulder, CO  80309-0401
Office: 323C

Dean Phil Weiser is the former Dean of the Law School, Thomson Professor of Law, and Executive Director and Founder of the Silicon Flatirons Center for Law, Technology, and Entrepreneurship at the University of Colorado. Dean Weiser re-joined the Colorado faculty in June, 2011. From April 2010-June 2011, he served as the Senior Advisor for Technology and Innovation to the National Economic Council Director at the White House. From July 2009-April 2010, he served as the Deputy Assistant Attorney General at the United States Department of Justice’s Antitrust Division.

Since first joining the CU faculty in 1999, Dean Weiser has worked to establish a national center of excellence in telecommunications and technology law, founding the Journal on Telecommunications & High Technology Law and the Silicon Flatirons Center for Law, Technology, and Entrepreneurship as well as writing and teaching in the areas of competition policy, innovation policy, and Internet policy. Over the last several years, Weiser has co-authored three books (Digital Crossroads: American Telecommunications Policy in the Internet Age (MIT Press 2013) (with Jon Nuechterlein), Telecommunications Law and Policy (Carolina Academic Press 2012) (With Stuart Benjamin, Howard Shelanski & James Speta), and The Jury and Democracy: How Jury Deliberation Promotes Civic Engagement and Political Participation (Oxford University Press 2010), written numerous articles (in both law journals and publications such as the Washington Post and Foreign Affairs), and testified before both houses of Congress. He also remained engaged in public service, arguing a number of pro bono cases before the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals, co-chairing the Colorado Innovation Council, and serving as the lead agency reviewer for the Federal Trade Commission as part of the 2008 Presidential Transition.

JD, New York University School of Law.