Outreach professionals brainstorm about ways to do outreach work more effectively

The CU Boulder Outreach and Engagement Professionals Network (OEPN) was established in 2014 to strengthen and increase visibility of campus outreach and engagement endeavors. Find resources and learn more here about the types of professional development and networking events hosted by the OEPN each year.

The OEPN is modeled after the Outreach and Engagement Practitioners Network, which is a community of practice that supports community-engaged professionals at institutions of higher learning across the country to advance engaged scholarship and community-campus partnerships. A workshop is held each year as part of the Engagement Scholarship Consortium national conference.

The OEPN is a community of practice that professionally supports staff and faculty in their outreach and engagement work.

The network seeks to strengthen and advance outreach and engagement programs and community partnerships by encouraging collaboration, sharing best practices and providing professional development opportunities to CU Boulder staff and faculty.

  • Provide professional development programming and organize networking events where campus outreach professionals can learn from each other about outreach and engagement best practices and current research and resources.
  • Increase recognition of campus outreach and engagement work through efforts such as special showcase events and the Anne K. Heinz Award for Excellence in Outreach and Engagement. 
  • Communicate with campus outreach and engagement professionals about best practices, program support and collaboration, and events through the OEPN listserv and event announcements.

  • Email us to sign up for the OEPN listserv. This allows you to share information about your program, reach out to other staff and faculty across campus with questions about programs and collaboration, and receive event announcements. 
  • Visit the Community Outreach and Engagement Programs website to discover campus resources, learn about community programs, explore the database and find other faculty and staff experts.

The OEPN Steering Committee is a volunteer group from a variety of disciplines that works to implement the mission, vision and goals. Email our office to join! 

Steering Committee Co-Chairs

Jeanne McDonald, Office for Outreach and Engagement
SarahDawn Haynes, Environmental Center

Steering Committee Members

Laura Fisher, Masters of the Environment Graduate Program
Karen Ganss, Pathways Program, Engineering
Ondine Geary, Department of Theatre & Dance
Amanda Giguere, Colorado Shakespeare Festival
Jim Hakala, Museum of Natural History
Anna Hermes, INSTAAR/Environmental Studies
Roudy Hildreth, CU Engage
Anne-Barrie Hunter, Center for STEM Learning
Susan Jurow, School of Education
Becky Komarek, Idea Forge
Mignon Macias, ODECE
Kat Penzkover, Science Discovery
Alma Ramos, College of Music
Rachel Ripken, CU Athletics
Lisa Schwartz, Office for Outreach and Engagement
Nicole Speer, Intermountain Neuroimaging Consortium
Sophia Surage, Volunteer Resource Center
Jennifer Taylor, CIRES
Janet Yowell, Center for STEM Learning


Contact Jeanne McDonald, Associate Director, Office for Outreach and Engagement