Provost Russ Moore, Sarah Cowan, Mike Bennett, Nola Salisbury, Chancellor Phil DiStefano and Dean of Continuing Education and Vice Provost for Outreach and Engagement Sara Thompson. Photo by Casey A. Cass

Do you know a staff member who is doing exemplary outreach and engagement work?

Nominate them by Feb. 21 for this $5,000 award, which recognizes a staff or nontenure-track faculty member who has shown an exemplary commitment to outreach and engagement.

An outreach program faculty principal investigator, department chair, program director or supervisor must submit the online application form. 

The award was named for Anne K. Heinz to acknowledge more than 25 years of support to campus faculty and staff and her leadership in CU Boulder outreach and engagement efforts. Heinz served as dean of continuing education from 1996 to 2015, and as the first vice provost for outreach and engagement from 2009 to 2015.

The staff member’s outreach program will receive $5,000 to support program needs identified by the staff member and sponsoring department, as well as a plaque and campuswide recognition. The award recipient is also eligible to receive funding to attend the 2020 Engagement Scholarship Consortium national conference in Philadelphia.

Up to two additional special recognition awards of $1,000 for program support may be given at the discretion of the award selection committee.

The award is administered by our office; recipients are selected by a committee from across campus.

The awards are presented at the annual Outreach Award Luncheon in the spring.

The staff member, in a role distinct from tenure-track faculty, often works behind the scenes to facilitate and manage ongoing projects, programs, services, research and relationships with community partners. Nominees must be currently employed CU Boulder staff or nontenure-track faculty who manage the hands-on tasks involved with supporting and advancing an outreach program and community partnership. 

The CU Boulder staff member’s job responsibilities must be a part of a campus outreach and engagement program that is tied to the academic role and mission of the university. The outreach program must have a department/center affiliation and be aligned with the campus definition of outreach and engagement.

Tenure-track faculty, administrators, Office for Outreach and Engagement staff, CU Boulder students and past winners of the Anne Heinz award are not eligible.

The staff member should exhibit some or all of the following characteristics:

  • Works to improve the quality of an outreach program. 
  • Finds and develops new opportunities.
  • Often goes above and beyond his/her expected job responsibilities.
  • Establishes or supports collaborative relationships.   
  • Takes initiative and uses creativity and innovation to work around obstacles or constraints. 
  • Communicates effectively with a variety of stakeholders (faculty, staff, students, community members, etc.).
  • Completes assignments thoroughly and thoughtfully.
  • Uses scarce resources efficiently without compromising the outreach program's quality.

Nominations need to be submitted online by an outreach program faculty PI, department chair, program director or supervisor. Incomplete or late nominations will not be accepted. 

Nomination must include the following information:

  • Nominee’s name, title, department.
  • Nominee’s email address, campus phone number, and campus box number.
  • Brief description of the nominee’s position and primary responsibilities. (250 words or less)
  • Provide a short description of the outreach program that the staff member manages including the audience served, impact and any problem(s) or issue(s) it may seek to address. (250 words or less)
  • A statement that describes the contributions of the nominee to the outreach program and speaks to how this person exhibits some or all of the characteristics listed under the selection criteria section. (500 words or less)
  • One letter of support from a community or external partner. (Limit to one page – upload with online submission)
  • Nominator's name, title, department.
  • Nominator’s email address, campus phone number, and campus box number.



  • Anne K. Heinz Award: Amanda Giguere, Outreach Director, Colorado Shakespeare Festival
  • Special Recognition Awards: Stacey Forsyth, director of CU Science Discovery, and Michelle Gabrieloff-Parish, energy and climate justice program manager at the CU Environmental Center


  • Anne K. Heinz Award: Pilar Prostko, Program Coordinator and Facilitator, CU Dialogues Program


  • Anne K. Heinz Award: Sabrina Sideris, Program Director, INVST Community Studies
  • Special Recognition Awards: James Hakala, Senior Educator, CU Boulder Museum of Natural History; Nicole Speer, Director of Operations, Intermountain Neuroimaging Consortium


  • Anne K. Heinz Award: Peg Posnick, Outreach Coordinator, Department of Theatre and Dance
  • Special Recognition Award: Amanda Giguere, Outreach Director, Colorado Shakespeare Festival; Elaina Verveer, Program Advisor, Putska Scholars Program, CU Engage


Contact Jeanne McDonald, Associate Director, 303.492.4471.