Professors Walker Sampson and Heather Bowden hold their book.

Bowden and Sampson Recieve SAA Award

June 14, 2019

Heather Bowden and Walker Sampson, professors from the University Libraries, are being honored with a Preservation Publication Award from the Society of American Archivists (SAA) for their book “The No-Nonsense Guide to Born-Digital Content.” Bowden currently directs Special Collections, Archives, and Preservation in the University Libraries. Before that, she taught...

Interns Lisa Donavan and Stacey Brown work on maps from the U.S. Congressional Serial Set volumes in the Preservation unit.

Re-Mapping Future Through Preserving History With Maps Project

June 13, 2019

The University Libraries are wrapping up an extensive project this summer that will keep over 60 maps detailing railroad survey reports that date back to the pre-Civil War era accessible to students, researchers, and librarians. Faculty and staff from the Government Information Library, the Preservation unit, and the Earth Sciences...

Portrait of Walter Orr Roberts, former director of the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR).

Archives Digitizes Walter Orr Roberts Collection For NCAR's 60th

June 7, 2019

The University Libraries and the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) are delighted to share the newly curated Walter Orr Roberts digital collection . Roberts was an internationally-renowned astrophysicist and a principal figure in many scientific developments in Colorado. From 1940 to 1957, he served as the superintendent of the...

Leanne Walther

The Lasting Legacy of Newly Retired Leanne Walther

June 3, 2019

After over 30 years with the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries, librarian Leanne Walther has retired. Walther began her career at CU Boulder as a cataloger at the Howard B. Waltz Music Library. She worked in the music library by day and worked towards her Master’s in Library Sciences from...

Left: Haley Takahashi, Alanna Locey, and Samantha Bares

Protect This Land Documents Change With Art And Dialogue

May 30, 2019

Earlier this month, approximately 50 people from CU Boulder and the broader Boulder community gathered in the Jerry Crail Johnson Earth Sciences & Map Library for a constructive discussion on the art prints in the library’s latest exhibit, “Protect This Land: Making Change Through Visualization.” Protect This Land is part...

Librarians from the Sciences.

Celebrating Excellence in the Libraries

May 27, 2019

At the 2019 Spring Awards Ceremony, the University Libraries faculty and staff were celebrated for their service in leadership roles, their contributions to academic scholarship and the success of the Libraries, as well as their years of service. Three annual awards were presented to longtime faculty and staff with the...

Who are the contents of this rediscovered "time capsule" really for? Our archivist David Hays wrote about his efforts to find and recount this little slice of history just in time for Memorial Day.

A Memorial Day Time Capsule

May 27, 2019

Hanging in shadow over one’s back shoulder, high on the south wall of Macky Auditorium is a tarnished bronze plaque. Having nothing to do with music or the College of Music, played and housed in Macky, there is little reason to bring attention to the plaque, which has by its...

Libraries Building Manager Carl Stewart with Libraries Assistant Building Manager Christopher Yago.

Stewart Receives Williams Award for Lifetime Achievement

May 23, 2019

The 3rd annual Williams Award for Lifetime Achievement, presented by the University Libraries, has been awarded to the Libraries Building Manager Carl Stewart. Libraries Building Manager Carl Stewart with Libraries Assistant Building Manager Christopher Yago. The Williams Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a libraries faculty or staff member for their exceptional...

Campbell Award recipient David Hays delivers his acceptance speech.

Hays Recognized With 25th Annual Campbell Award

May 22, 2019

Longtime staff archivist David Hays is this year’s recipient of the Campbell Award. Campbell Award recipient David Hays delivers his acceptance speech. The award is named after Marie and Martha Campbell, sisters who joined the University Libraries staff in 1945 and have maintained their support for the Libraries since their...

Robert McDonald, Barbara Losoff, Megan Friedel, Lindsay Roberts, and Cynthia Keller

Losoff Receives 2019 Ralph E. Ellsworth Award

May 21, 2019

Associate Professor Barbara Losoff is the recipient of the University Libraries’ annual Ralph E. Ellsworth Award. It was presented to her during the 2019 Spring Awards ceremony, a time where the Libraries recognize the faculty and staff contributions to scholarship and community over the last year. Left: Robert McDonald, Barbara...