Published: Oct. 24, 2019

CU Student Government and the University Libraries have joined together to identify and recognize CU educators who demonstrate exemplary use of open educational resources (OER) in their classrooms or teaching practice.

Do you know a CU teacher who has implemented, adapted, authored, or shared high quality open educational resources? All CU educators, including graduate students, are eligible to be nominated for campus-wide recognition. Nominations will be accepted until 5 p.m. on December 20th, 2019. 

Leah Wasser, recipient of the Open Educator Award in 2019

2019 Open Educator Award recipient Leah Wasser (right) with Associate Professor and Health & Human Sciences Librarian Merinda McLure

Open educational resources (OER) “are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OER include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge" (William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, OER Defined, 2017). 

OER can provide students with day-one access to course materials, serve as free or low-cost alternatives to costly textbooks, support students’ equitable access to course learning, and support pedagogical innovation by educators.  

Help us celebrate campus innovators who are enhancing learning and supporting the open sharing of educational materials: nominate your teacher or colleague by 5 p.m., December 20, 2019.

The Open Educational Resources guide provides resources for educators who are interested in exploring and identifying OER. The guide includes contact information for the Libraries’ OER Leads, Caroline Sinkinson, Melissa Hart Cantrell, and Merinda McLure, who are available to provide assistance.

Diana Maggiore, the first recipient of the Open Educator Award in 2018

Diana Maggiore, the first recipient of the Open Educator Award in 2018