Published: June 12, 2018

The Spring Awards ceremony is the time the University Libraries takes to recognize the important contributions that their faculty and staff have made over the past years.

The 24th annual Campbell Award acknowledges the value and dedication of a respected member of our Library staff. This person has gone over and above their normal job description; and made outstanding contributions to the Libraries. Donna Hamilton is this years winner. Here is some of the praise she received. “Since most of [Donna’s] work is done behind the scenes, her influence is likely evident only to those with whom she directly interacts. Nevertheless, she plays an important role in making the Libraries’ many hidden resources accessible to the world and cooperates tirelessly to help other departments achieve their discovery goals."

Donna Hamilton, right, 2018 recipient of the Campbell Award.

The 27th annual Ellsworth Award is given to recognize libraries faculty members for their outstanding contributions to the university libraries, the university as a whole and the profession at large. Named for Ralph Ellsworth, a former director of the University Libraries who was exceptionally active in his librarianship, publishing, and service, we hope to honor faculty who similarly exemplify the inquiring mind, professional dedication and active service he did. This year’s recipient was Thea Lindquist. In a nomination letter for Thea, one person wrote, “As if her many accomplishments were not impressive enough, she also brings an incredibly generous and collaborative ethos to her projects. She emphasizes inclusion and partnerships.”

Thea Lindquist, 2nd to the left, 2018 recipient of the Ellsworth Award

Our 2nd annual Williams Lifetime Acheivement Award recognizes individuals within the University Libraries for their exceptional contributions to the Libraries over the whole of a career. The award was named after former Dean of Libraries for 29 years, James F. WIlliam II. This year’s recipient is Leanne Walther. One nomination letter memorably praised Leanne, saying, “How do I put into words the influence she has had on me? It’s impossible, like articulating the influence Shakespeare had on the English language, Darwin had on biology, or Newton had on physics. Her kindness, her patience, her enthusiasm for her work: inimitable, and yet I continually try to imitate them. And the breadth of her knowledge!. . . She is one of a kind, there won’t be another like her.”

Leanne Walther was unavailable to attend the event, so she telecommuted in. She is the 2018 Williams Award recipient.

At the Spring Awards Ceremony, we also recognize the many years of service our faculty and staff have served the library.

Five Years of Service:

Leonardo Arellano
Sarah Hagerman
David Norton
Kathryn Tallman
Alexander Watkins

Ten Years of Service:

David Martin Carr
Michael Dulock
Megan Lambert
Xiang Li
Steven Selleck
Philip Wrede

Fifteen Years of Service:

Cynthia Hardey
Eugene Hayworth
Angela Alessandra Palermo
Dylan Wiersma
Laura Wright

Twenty Years of Service:

Gloria Lamboy

Twenty-Five Years of Service:

Gregory Robl
Carl Stewart

Thirty-Five Years of Service

John Dziadecki


Judith Yem Fong
Christina Howard
Anita Orman
Meri Willett
James F. Williams, II
Lucile Zellar
Scott Harvey

Finally, the Libraries recognized those faculty and staff who received awards for their work outside the libraries.

Nickoal Eichmann Kalwara was invited to serve on the grant review board for the 2018 Digital Humanities Advancement Grants for the National Endowment for the Humanities. She was also accepted into North Carolina State University’s Data Science & Visualization Institute for Librarians.

Facilities Management Custodial Team 4 received the 2018 Facilities Management Constellation Award for Excellent Customer Service.

Bronwen Maxson was awarded one of SALALM’s highest honors, a Dan C. Hazen Fellowship.

Leslie Reynolds is a 2018-2019 Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Leadership Fellow.

Laura Wright was accepted into the University of Washington Library School in Fall 2018.