Published: May 25, 2017
Andrew Johnson receives the Ellsworth award.
Anita Ortman receives her Campbell Award from Dean Williams.
Dean Williams receives the Lifetime Achievement award.

On May 16, the University Libraries held our Spring Awards ceremony. This is the time we take to recognize the important contributions that our faculty and staff have made over the past years.

At the awards ceremony, we presented the 27th annual Ellsworth Award, given to recognize libraries faculty members for their outstanding contributions to the University Libraries, the university as a whole and the profession at large. Named for Ralph Ellsworth, a former director of the University Libraries who was exceptionally active in his librarianship, publishing, and service, we hope to honor faculty who similarly exemplify the inquiring mind, professional dedication and active service he did. This year’s recipient was Andrew Johnson, our Open and Digital Scholarship Librarian. In their nomination letter for Andrew, one person wrote, “[Andrew is] an innovative and pioneering spirit… whose current and future accomplishments will see us all very proud.” Another wrote, his “willing, inclusive and collaborative nature” has allowed him to build projects that have an impact on colleagues and the field at large.

"I am so proud to work in a profession that values openness in all of it's forms and I'm honored to be recognized for helping out institution move forward," Andrew said, during is acceptance remarks.

The 24th annual Campbell Award acknowledges the value and dedication of a respected member of our Library staff. This person has gone over and above their normal job description, and made outstanding contributions to the Libraries. Anita Ortman, our Music cataloging specialist at the Howard B. Waltz Music Library, was our 2017 recipient. The nominators sang their praises for Anita’s internal motivation; high-quality of work; thoroughness; attention to detail; and the ability to work non-stop. Colleague who have worked with Anita describe her as: dependable, impressive, supportive, humble, an asset, and irreplaceable.

“In my 30 years working at the University Libraries,” Anita said while accepting the award, “I have worked with many good employees. Some were exemplary colleagues. The Music Library has been going through changes, come see us after the renovation is done, but, I believe it is coming into its own.” The Campbell Award was named after Marie and Martha Campbell, two exceptional staff members who, together, worked over 80 years at the University Libraries.

This year, the University Libraries began a new tradition of recognizing individuals within the University Libraries for their exceptional contributions to the Libraries over the whole of a career. Dean James F. Williams, II was the inaugural recipient of the eponymous award.

Over his nearly 30-year career on campus, Williams—who among the current deans is the longest serving—has led University Libraries through technological advancements into the digital age, fair research access and user accessibility efforts and a major renovation from 2008 to 2009, among other projects and initiatives. Dean WIlliams has been described as, a trusted and valued mentor, a role model of professionalism, dignity, and a friend to countless employees and colleagues.

“I am sincerely honored that the Libraries’ Lifetime Achievement Award has been created in my name, and that I’m the first recipient. It, too, has been an honor to work as a servant administrator and Dean of Libraries for these 29 years.” Dean Williams is retiring on June 30, 2017.

At the Spring Awards Ceremony, we also recognize the many years of service our faculty and staff have served the library.

Five Years of Service:

Maria Acosta: Facilities Management
Ba Do: Facilities Management
Carol Hagy: Library Technician III, Scholarly Resource Development.
Andrew Johnson: Assistant Professor, Open and Digital Scholarship Services and recipient of the 2017 Ellsworth Award.
Khamsay Senebouttarath: Facilities Management

Fifteen Years of Service

Hui Liang: Library Technician II, Metadata Services.
Thea Lindquist: Professor, Director of Open and Digital Scholarship Services, and History and Germanic Studies Librarian.
Paul Moeller: Associate Professor, Director of Metadata Services.
Justin Van Voorst: Information Technology Professional, Libraries Information Technology Department.

Twenty Years of Service

Barbara Losoff: Associate Professor, Interim Director of Sciences.
Curt Williams: General Professional II, Circulation Manager.

Twenty-Five Years of Service

Leanne Walther: Government Information Specialist, Government Information and recipient of the 2010 Campbell Award.
Lucile Zellar: Program Assistant II, Office of the Dean and recipient of the 2011 Campbell Award.

Thirty Years of Service

Pascuala Compean: Facilities Management
Anita Ortman: General Professional III, Music Library and recipient of the 2017 Campbell Award.


Finally, the Libraries recognized those faculty and staff who received awards for their work outside the libraries.

Michael Dulock, Walker Sampson, and Athea Merredyth: 2016 International Data Rescue Award in the Geosciences, Interdisciplinary Earth Data Alliance (IEDA) and Elsevier for their “Revealing Our Melting Past: Challenges and Opportunities in Rescuing a Collection of "Historical Glacier Data.”

Stacy Gilbert: 2017 Emerging Leader for the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA).

Naomi Heiser: Statewide Internet Portal Authority (SIPA, State of Colorado) grant for $3000 to digitize a set of 20 large historical Colorado maps.

Lisa Kippur: United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grant.

Thea Lindquist: Two Innovative Seed Grants, Office of the CU Provost and the Research and Innovation Office, for "Prosopographical Data Mining for Analyzing Multiplex Networks among Members of U.S. Congress since 1789" and "Computing Support for Digital Humanities at CU". Also, Selected to participate in an NEH institute, Early Modern Digital Agendas: Network Analysis, at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington ,DC, Summer 2017.

Leslie Reynolds: UCLA Senior Fellow, Graduate School of Information and Education Studies.

Carl Stewart: 2017 State Honor Award, Colorado Preservation, Inc. for his work on the Colorado Cultural and Historic Resources Task Force. He is one of its founding members.

Congratulations to all our recognized faculty and staff, and thank you to all Libraries’ staff and faculty.