Published: Aug. 23, 2005

Colorado Law announced today the election of eight new members to its Law Alumni Board.  Each member will serve a four-year term beginning in the 2005-2006 academic year. Hon. Ken Barnhill ’53 is a retired judge of the First Judicial District of Colorado. Alan F. Heath ’68 is Managing Director of Administration and Planning at the Owner Managed Business Institute.  He consults internationally to family businesses on governance, family conflict issues, organization development, succession, exit strategies and strategic growth planning.  John Jacus ‘84 is a law partner at Davis Graham & Stubbs where he counsels clients in environmental and regulatory compliance.  His community involvement includes service to the Colorado Association of Commerce and Industry, Boulder Valley Public Schools, Culture Corps, and the University of Colorado.  From 2003-2005 he was President of the University of Colorado Foundation Board of Trustees.  Michael McCarthy ’75 has focused for more than 25 years on civil trial practice and complex commercial disputes with a particular emphasis on class actions, securities, contract, corporate, consumer protection, bankruptcy, antitrust and natural resources litigation.  His pro bono activities include work for the Boulder Shelter for the Homeless and Indigent/Low Income Legal Representation. Peggy Montano ’80 practices natural resources and water law with Trout, Witwer & Freeman and is a past president of the Colorado Hispanic Bar Association.   Eric Rothaus ’01 is an Assistant Attorney General for State Services.  His career as a CU student and since graduation has been distinguished by service to the community.  Mariana Shulstad ’66 lives in Minneapolis where she is a legal consultant in the areas of Indian economic and casino development.  She is a nationally recognized leader in the areas of Indian treaties and treaty rights, tribal government and enrollment, and Indian land and economic development including tribal gaming issues.  Other areas of community focus include social and international justice, social service and welfare issues, arts organizations and church based initiatives.   Britton White ‘70 is Former Executive Vice President and General Counsel for El Paso Energy Corporation with a long history of commitment to the Law School, serving as Class Reunion chair, as an advisor on the Natural Resources Law Center Board and as a newly elected member of the Law Alumni Board.Current members Todd Frederickson ‘91 and H. Patrick Furman ‘80 were re-elected to additional four-year terms. The Law Alumni Board is made up of 28 University of Colorado School of Law graduates.  The members promote the best interests of the Law School by stimulating interest in, building loyalty for, and increasing support for the Law School among its alumni and students;  assisting the Law School in serving the needs of its alumni, students, and faculty, the legal profession, and the public at large.  The board also nominates the winners of the Law School’s distinguished achievement awards and the winner of the Knous Award.  Each member serves a four-year term.  For more information about the LAB go to the Law Alumni Board web page.