VoiceThread, a tool for oral proficiency in the online language classroomVoiceThread, a Tool for Oral Proficiency in the Online Language Classroom.

Webinar held on June 28, 2018 at noon MDT (11am Pacific, 1pm Central and 2pm Eastern). Bhavya Singh, Hindi teacher in the Sunnyvale school district and technology specialist discusses the challenge of developing students' oral proficiency in the online language classroom and proposes various ways to use VoiceThread for both presentational and interpersonal communication. Watch the presentation and the slides (the presentation was edited to remove students pictures/videos). Here are examples of VT uses in the WL classroom.

 

Virtual Reality in the Language Classroom: An exploration of the GeoTools

Webinar held on Wednesday June 6 at noon Mountain Time (11am Pacific, 1pm Central and 2pm Eastern). 

Heidi Trude, 2018 certificate graduate, French teacher, Google certified educator and 2018 SCOLT teacher of the year presents the findings from the technology exploration project she conducted as part of her coursework in LGTC 5030: Emerging Tools in Practice (spring 18). Watch the presentation here and view the slides and the padlet

 

 

BreakoutEDU in the World Language classroom (free webinar)BreakoutEDU in the World Language classroom

Webinar held on Friday May 11, 2018 at 3pm Mountain Time (2pm Pacific, 4pm Central and 5pm Eastern) for a free webinar on BreakoutEDU in the World Language classroom.

Silvy Orsatti, graduate certificate student, Spanish language and methodology instructor and instructional technologist presents the findings from the technology exploration project she conducted as part of her coursework in LGTC 5030: Emerging Tools in Practice (spring 18). Watch the recording of the presentation.

 

Digital Storytelling webinar by Heidi Trude.Tell me a story: Digital Storytelling in the World Language Classroom

A webinar by certificate student Heidi Trude, French teacher at Skyline high school, VA, held on June 14, 2017, 10am Pacific, 11am Mountain, 12 Central, and 1pm Eastern. 

Discover creative ways for your language students to share meaningful stories in the target language. In this webinar, Heidi Trude, certificate student and French teacher in Virginia will discuss how she uses Adobe Spark to create carefully scaffolded student-centered digital storytelling projects for her French students.

Watch the recording and the slides.

 

 A technology-enhanced AP unit on the theme of Beauty & Aesthetics (free webinar)

Diego Rivera’s Detroit Industry Murals: A technology-enhanced unit on the theme of Beauty & Aesthetics 

Webinar by certificate students Alandra Giron, Spanish Professor at ‎Thomas Nelson Community College, VA. and Margot Riemer, Spanish teacher and former World Languages Department Chair, Harvard-Westlake School, California. Webinar held May 26, 2017, 8am Pacific, 9am Mountain, 10 Central, and 11am Eastern. In this webinar, Alandra and Margot present on a technology-enhanced Spanish AP unit on the significance of Diego Rivera's muralism in Detroit. 

Watch the recording and the slides.
 

Virtual Reality in the Language Classroom: 

Virtual Reality in the language classroom, free webinar by Trent Hoy.A webinar presentation by Trent Hoy, student in the certificate in language teaching with technology and French adjunct professor at Broward college (FL). May 4th, 2017, 10am Pacific, 11am Mountain, noon Central, and 1pm Eastern.

Watch the webinar recording and view the slides.

In this webinar, Trent will present a classroom project where his students used mobile VR technology (Google Cardboard and Cardboard Camera) to create, share, and narrate immersive snapshots of their lives in the target language.

 

Students Murals: Using ThingLink and Blogger for Presentational Speaking & Writing

A webinar presentation by Leigh Sapp, certificate student and Spanish teacher at Mount Prospect, Illinois.
Monday, August 8th, 2016, 9am Pacific, 10am Mountain, 11am Central and noon Eastern.

Watch the webinar recording.
Google Slidesslide show used to present muralismBlogger set up and scheduleassessement rubric and mural assignment.

In this webinar, Leigh Sapp will discuss an end of the year collaborative art project where students worked in small groups to create murals representing an aspect of the Latin American history or current events covered in the Spanish 4 course. As they worked on their murals, students used Blogger to reflect upon their creative process and record their daily progress in Spanish. At the end of the project, they created a ThingLink to help scaffold their group oral presentation of their murals to the class. 

 

Teach Reflexive verbs with Instagram Selfies, free webinar Sat May 21st , 2016 10am MST. In this project, students documented a typical day in their life by taking selfies and commenting on them in French in the past tense. Students captioned their images in French, created French hashtags and shared their  images on their school only Instagram account.Teaching Reflexive Verbs Using Instagram Selfies

A webinar presentation by Rachel Sabre, certificate student and French teacher in the Cherry Creek district (Colorado).
Saturday, May 21st, 2016, 10am MST. 

Watch the webinar recording.
Google Slides.

In this project, students documented a typical day in their life by taking selfies and commenting on them in French in the past tense. Students captioned their images in French, created French hashtags and shared their images on their school only Instagram account. Students followed each other as well as the teacher for the duration of this project. 

 

QR code webinar. Sat May 7th 10am MST. Students work in teams and go from clue to clue around campus. Each clue is a QR Code that leads the teams to various types of technology mediated messages in Spanish (Facetime calls, pre-recorded videos, websites, etc.) Upon solving each clue, students collect a virtual puzzle piece which used for further cultural conversation.QR Code Scavenger Hunt

A webinar presentation by Amanda Damon, certificate student and Spanish teacher (WI).
Saturday, May 7th, 2016, 10am MST.  

Watch the webinar.
Google Slides

Students work in teams and go from clue to clue around campus. Each clue is a QR Code that leads the teams to various types of technology-mediated messages in Spanish (Facetime calls, pre-recorded videos, websites, etc.) Upon solving each clue, students collect a virtual puzzle piece that is used for further cultural conversation.