Global and International Media Image

Funding opportunities

home > funding opportunities

  • Rodos International Films and Visual Arts Festival Ecofilms Prize

    Recognizes documentary, short and feature films with environmental and ecology themes, particularly those dealing with conservation issues and issues related with the natural, the human and the built environment. Prizes are awarded to films for their innovative approach in conservation issues, for their daring proposal in subject matter and their artistic qualities overall. Cash awards range from 7,000 Euros to 3,000 Euros and the two audience awards are coordinated by the Rodos Cinema Society.

    Armory & Mountains Image

  • Courage in Journalism Award

    Honours full-time, part-time or freelance woman reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances - including physical danger, government oppression, political pressure or other intimidating obstacles. The prize is USD $5,000 and a sculpture symbolising freedom and courage. Up to 3 recipients will be recognised in ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles.

  • Prix Ars Electronica

    Recognises the use of computers as a medium for implementing and designing creative projects that blend art, technology and society. Categories include: computer animation / visual effects; digital musics; interactive art; net vision; digital communities; u19 - freestyle computing; and the art and technology grant.

  • Society of Environmental Journalists (SEJ) Awards

    Recognises reporting on the environment by journalists internationally for work that has appeared in newspapers, magazines, newsletters, online services, radio and television . A USD $1,000 prize is awarded in each of nine categories.

  • Tech Museum Awards

    Honours and awards innovators - individuals, for-profit companies, and not-for-profit organisations - from around the world who use technology to benefit humanity in the categories of: education; equality; economic development; environment; health. Five Laureates in each category are honoured and one Laureate per category receives USD $50,000.

  • WACC

    Scholarships under WACC's Communication Leadership Training Programme The Communication Leadership Training Programme (CLT) offers grants for communication-related training of individuals engaged in communication activities compatible with WACC's aims. WACC plays a leading role in promoting the democratisation of communications, communication for human dignity and the right to communicate. WACC encourages communications work that shows leadership in engaging with key issues to bring about a more just and democratic communication order. WACC supports participatory communication empowering those at the margins such as refugees, the urban and rural poor, indigenous peoples, people with disabilities and women.

  • Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism

    Recognises independent and professional reporting that sheds new light on controversial issues. The stories can focus on conflict, human-rights concerns, cross-border issues, or any other issue of controversy in a particular country or region. Two USD $5,000 prizes are awarded each year, one to a local reporter in a developing country or nation in transition, and the other to a freelance journalist covering international news.


  • New Voices National Fellowship Program

    Aims to bring innovative, fresh talent to the staff of organisations and to cultivate and strengthen the leadership potential of professionals in the U.S. entering fields related to human rights and social justice. New Voices Fellows are offered financial assistance, training, and other opportunities for personal and professional development. Host organisations are provided salary-support grants.

  • Kaiser Family Foundation International Health Journalism Fellowship Project

    The International Health Journalism Fellowship Project is part of the Kaiser Family Foundation's continuing commitment to work with journalists interested in reporting on public health issues, building on the Foundation's programs for U.S. journalists that have been in place since 1993. The International Journalism Project is a new initiative funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation <> to support journalists with a strong interest in reporting on HIV/AIDS, TB, malaria and related health issues.

  • Reuters Digital Vision Fellowship Programme

    Supports social entrepreneurs who seek to leverage technology-based solutions in the interest of humanitarian, educational, and sustainable development goals. The Reuters Foundation and other programme partners will award approximately a dozen full-time fellowships, covering all Stanford University fees and expenses. Living stipends may be available for fellows accepted from developing world countries.

  • Dag Hammarskjöld Memorial Scholarship Fund

    Offers an opportunity for young journalists from Asia, Africa, Eastern Europe and Latin America to report on proceedings of the United Nations for news media in their home countries. The Fund expects to award three or more fellowships in 2006 and will provide round-trip airfare to New York; modest accommodations; health insurance for the duration of the fellowship; and a daily allowance to cover food and other necessities.

  • Rosalynn Carter Fellowships For Mental Health Journalism

    Provides journalists from the U.S., New Zealand, and South Africa grants to journalists to study topics related to mental health or mental illnesses. Fellows are encouraged to select topics that are unique and creative. Projects may educate the public, raise awareness, and inform other journalists in the field. Every year, six U.S. fellows are awarded stipends of $10,000 USD each and in 2006-2007, two Southern African Fellows (Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, and Zimbabwe) will be awarded R50,000 each.

  • UNESCO Fellowships Programme in Support of Priority Programme Areas

    Offers support for short-term programmes to candidates who are promising and qualified specialists seeking to undertake advanced research or to upgrade their skills and knowledge of state-of-the-art developments in their field of study or work. Priority programme areas are education, sciences, social and human sciences, culture, and communication and information. Priority attention will be given to women, and those from the Least Developed Countries (LDCs). The maximum amount provided is USD $15,000.


  • Native Leadership Scholarship (NLS)

    Creates educational opportunities for women around the world who are grassroots leaders, organisers and activists demonstrating financial need. Scholarship recipients enroll in programmes of study that cover a range of human rights and development issues at the non-doctoral graduate level including gender, reproductive health, HIV/AIDS, child exploitation, human and drug trafficking, infant and maternal mortality, microbial diseases, conflict resolution, environmental justice, global fair trade, agroecology, and sustainable development. Four to six scholarships are awarded per year, up to USD $25,000 per academic year for a maximum of two years.

  • The Population Institute Global Media Awards (GMA)

    Honors those who have contributed to creating awareness of population problems through their outstanding journalistic endeavors. The awards serve to encourage editors, news directors and journalists to acquire a more in-depth knowledge of population issues and to stimulate high standards of journalism.



University of Colorado Journalism and Mass Communication does not condone or promote any of the programs listed above. Nor does it take any responsibility for the quality of the programs or their administration.