Published: Jan. 22, 2021

On January 20, 2021, President Biden signed a presidential proclamation ending what has been referred to as the “Travel Ban 3.0” as well as subsequent related bans. These previous bans impacted travel to the U.S. and prohibited the issuance of certain types of U.S. visas to citizens of Syria, Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, Yemen, Burma, Eritrea, Nigeria, Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan, Venezuela, and Tanzania. President Biden’s proclamation instructs the U.S. Department of State to restart visa application processing for citizens of these countries that were impacted by the previous bans. Please note that many of the other U.S. entry restrictions put in place due to the COVID-19 pandemic still apply.