

Quantum Integrated Sensor Systems Interdisciplinary Research Theme 2018 Year End Report

2018 Quantum Integrated Sensor Systems IRT Annual Report

IRT Scope and Mission

The goal of the IRT was to engage the engineering faculty in the area of quantum, an area of great national importance with the recent passage of the National Quantum Initiative Bill in December 2018.

Most Significant IRT Accomplishments in 2018

The most significant accomplishment was the establishment of a campus quantum initiative, that encompasses the entire University, not just engineering (Jun Ye, Director; Steve ONeil, Exec. Director; Juliet Gopinath, Associate Director). Primary units involved include Engineering, Physics, Chemistry, JILA and NIST. The IRT seed grant program merged into a bigger QUEST program, managed by RIO, with a pool of \$800K (contributions from RIO, NIST, Engineering, Physics and Chemistry). Projects with PIs from different departments were solicited, a 'mixer' was held, and a substantial number of submissions included engineering faculty. Considering that we do not have a single faculty member in engineering solely focused on quantum, this is a major achievement. Additionally, a seminar series (joint between engineering and JILA) will start in March 2019.

Seed Grant Summary

- Dark excitons at 4K in WSe2 & single quantum emitters triggered by the strain induced by an AFM tip (PI: Baowen Li)
 - o QUEST seed grant application based on results (with Xiaobo Yin, Markus Raschke)
- New silicon nitride microresonators fabricated and under test to measure squeezing (Pls: Svenja Knappe, Shu-Wei Huang)
 - o Joint NSF proposal (with Univ. of MD College Park), for submission on 01/31/2019
- Lidar for high-resolution ranging and intensity measurements of underwater objects with single photon counting detectors (PIs: Kelvin Wagner and Jeffrey Thayer)
 - NASA NSTRF proposal submitted, Cross-Cutting Space-Based LIDAR Sensing Systems and Modalities
- Packaged liquid droplets, with quality factor measurements (PIs: Juliet Gopinath and Victor Bright)
 - White paper, DARPA (Dr. Ron Polcawich) on liquid droplets encouraged for seedling funding

Next Steps and Anticipated Milestones

- Formal establishment (announcement, website etc.) of campus quantum center
- Involvement of core group of Engineering faculty in campus quantum center
- Successful completion of quantum faculty searches in engineering, as well as Physics

 Seed grant competition winners announced and results from these projects used to seed center level projects

IRT Performance Metrics

Industry Collaboration

New external collaborations

- Lockheed Martin CTO briefed on quantum (Knappe, 11/18)
- Los Alamos National Laboratory (Conference call, 11/18)

Technology transfer, IP generation, and start-ups

- ASTRALite (Startup company, Thayer)
- Fathom Computing Advisory Board (Wagner), Consultant (Gopinath)
- Lockheed Martin Coherent Technologies (Wagner)
- Lambdametrics (Wagner)

Reputation

Faculty in national leadership positions

- Quantum sensing/metrology (Greg Rieker, James Thompson, Sae Woo Nam)
- Quantum networking/communication (Won Park, Konrad Lehnert)
- Quantum matter (John Price, Xiaobo Yin)
- Quantum computing (Alexandra Kolla, Grahame Smith, Dietrich Leibfried)
- Education (Sarah Miller, Heather Lewandowski)
- Industry (Dana Anderson, Chris Muldrow)

National Press for IRTs

None to report

Recognition by peer institutions

None to report

Proposals and Projects

Multi-department proposals/projects (> \$1M)

- 22 seed grants submitted to QUEST (internal seed grant program for 2019)
- Coordinating a campus response to the Mid-scale Research Infrastructure-1 (Mid-scale RI-1) call from NSF (organization effort led by Victor Bright)
- L. Jessup (PI), Quantum Computing & Information Science Faculty Fellows (QCIS-FF), Proposal to fund a computer science faculty member in area of quantum (2018)
- J. T. Gopinath (PI), L. Shalm (Co-PI), W. Park (Co-PI), P. Bierhorst (Co-PI), S. W. Nam (Co-PI), A loophole-free Bell test on a chip, To be submitted to Enabling Quantum Leap: Quantum Idea Incubator for Transformational Advances in Quantum Systems (2019)

- J. Thayer, NASA NSTRF proposal submitted, *Cross-Cutting Space-Based LIDAR Sensing Systems and Modalities* (2018)
- J. T. Gopinath and V. M. Bright, White paper, DARPA (Dr. Ron Polcawich) on liquid droplets encouraged for seedling funding (2018)
- J. T. Gopinath, On-Chip Entanglement, Preparation, Manipulation, and Detection for Integrated All Quantum Optical Information Processing, NSF RAISE TAQs, \$1M, 1/1/19-12/31/21
- Z. Popovic and Cold Quanta (D. Anderson), STTR (2018)

Center-scale proposals/projects (> \$10M)

• None to report.

APPENDIX

IRT Members

Last Name	First Name	Dept	Email
Ablowitz	Mark	APPM	mark.ablowitz@colorado.edu
Anderson	Dana	PHYS	allison.p.anderson@colorado.edu
Axelrad	Penina	AES	penina.axelrad@colorado.edu
Bright	Victor	ME	victor.bright@colorado.edu
Chen	Lijun	CS	lijun.chen@colorado.edu
Chen	Xudong	ECEE	xudong.chen@colorado.edu
Dessau	Daniel	PHYS	dessau@colorado.edu
Filipovic	Dejan	ECEE	dejan.filipovic@colorado.edu
Gopinath	Juliet	ECEE	juliet.gopinath@colorado.edu
Grochow	Joshua	CS	joshua.grochow@colorado.edu
Holder	Aaron	ChBE	aaron.holder@colorado.edu
Holland	Murray	PHYS	murray.holland@colorado.edu
Huang	Shu-Wei	ECEE	shuwei.huang@colorado.edu
Knappe	Svenja	ME	svenja.knappe@colorado.edu
Kolla	Alexandra	CS	alexandra.kolla@colorado.edu
Lee	Yung Cheng	ME	leeyc@colorado.edu
Lehnert	Konrad	PHYS	konrad.lehnert@colorado.edu
Li	Baowen	ME	xinlin.li@colorado.edu
Liu	Youjian	ECEE	eugeneliu@colorado.edu
Maksimovic	Dragan	ECEE	maksimov@colorado.edu
McLeod	Robert	ECEE	robert.mcleod@colorado.edu
Moddel	Garrett	ECEE	moddel@colorado.edu
Musgrave	Charles	ChBE	charles.musgrave@colorado.edu
Neogi	Sanghamitra	AES	sanghamitra.neogi@colorado.edu
Palo	Scott	AES	scott.palo@colorado.edu
Park	Wounjhang	ECEE	wounjhang.park@colorado.edu
Popovic	Zoya	ECEE	zoya.popovic@colorado.edu
Price	John	PHYS	joh.price@colorado.edu
Psychogiou	Dimitra	ECEE	dimitra.psychogiou@colorado.edu
Raschke	Markus	PHYS	markus.raschke@colorado.edu
Regal	Cindy	PHYS	cindy.regal@colorado.edu
Rey	Ana	PHYS	arey@jilau1.colorado.edu
Rieker	Gregory	ME	gregory.rieker@colorado.edu
Schibli	Thomas	PHYS	trs@colorado.edu
Shaheen	Sean	ECEE	sean.shaheen@colorado.edu
Shang	Li	ECEE	li.shang@colorado.edu

Thayer	Jeffrey	AES	jeffrey.thayer@colorado.edu
Thompson	James	PHYS	james.k.thompson@colorado.edu
Vance	Marina	ME	marina.vance@colorado.edu
Wagner	Kelvin	ECEE	kelvin@colorado.edu
Yang	Ronggui	ME	ronggui.yang@colorado.edu
Ye	Jun	PHYS	jun.ye@colorado.edu
Yin	Xiaobo	ME	xiaobo.yin@colorado.edu
Zunger	Alexander	PHYS	alex.zunger@colorado.edu