Fall 2002 IBS News Archive

Congratulations to Mary Fran Myers for being presented with a newly established award, named in her honor, by the Gender and Disaster Network. The Mary Fran Myers Award was presented to her to "recognize her sustained efforts to launch a worldwide network among disaster professionals, to advance women's careers, and promote research on gender issues in disaster research in emergency management and higher education." IBS is proud and honored to have her fulfilling such an influential role. We wish her continued success. Announcement of her award is mentioned in a number of articles including one in the September 25, 2002 issue of the Colorado Daily.

Congratulations to Lindy Shultz (fifteen years), Sugandha Brooks (ten years), Marcia Richardson (ten years), and Julie Klauss (five years) for their continuous service and employment at the University. Shultz and Brooks have been with IBS since they started, Klauss transferred to IBS in October 1998 and Richardson in August 2001. It is great to have them all on board!

Congratulations to Andrei Rogers who has been selected to receive a Faculty Fellowship for 2003-2004! Andrei will be on sabbatical leave during that period and will be devoting his time to research on the indirect estimation of migration.

Congratulations to James Scarritt who retired as of December 31, 2002 after 41 years in the Political Science Department! Jim has been a member of the Professional Staff at IBS for 19 of those years and we are happy to announce that he will continue his affiliation with the Political and Economic Change Program. We wish him many years of fun in the sun and are thankful he will continue to be a part of IBS.