The History department has several awards for which interested students may apply or be nominated.

The Philip Mitterling History Paper Prize Competition

Prof. Mitterling was a former professor in the Department of History. In his honor, the History department annually awards a $300.00 prize for the best paper submitted by a History Major or Minor in a History course at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Papers from any semester of a given academic year and in any field of history are eligible for consideration.

Only History Majors and Minors may apply; each individual may submit only one entry.

Papers are judged on the basis of both content and style. Footnotes (or endnotes) and bibliography must conform to the requirements of the course in which the paper was submitted. The paper must be a miminum of 10 pages in length (using standard 1" margins and 10-12 point font sizes).

3 copies of the paper should be submitted to the Director of Undergraduate Studies via the History Department's main office, Hellems 204. An electronic copy should also be submitted by e-mail attachment to the Director of Undergraduate Studies.  If you are a Mac user, please be sure that your electronic copy is formatted to be readable in a Windows environment.

Contact the Undergraduate Director for information regarding the deadline. Papers from any semester may be submitted. If you graduate in Fall you may submit a paper before leaving in order to qualify for the Spring judging, even though you will no longer be in residence.

History Honors Thesis Prize Competition

The History Department sponsors an annual prize of $300 for the Best History Honors Thesis. All theses submitted during both semesters of the academic year will be considered for this prize.

  • There is no specific length requirement.
  • Theses must have been written for History 3120
  • Theses will be judged on both content and style
  • Footnotes (or endnotes) must conform to those of one of the standard academic writing manuals.

The thesis prize is awarded by the History Honors Committee.

The James Field Willard Service Award

The James Field Willard Award of $300 is given to a CU History major who has distinguished her/himself in service to the historians’ discipline. While seniors graduating in the current academic year are preferred, the award can go to any History major. The Department may choose to make two awards in a year in unusual cases.

Service is defined broadly. It can mean service within the History Department at CU (in the History Honors Society, the Colorado Historian, etc.), or beyond: for example, work in an archive, or as a museum or park guide.

Students may nominate themselves, or can be nominated by a professor. In either case, the nomination letter should include as much information as possible about the service in question. If applicable, a letter from the supervisor of the students service would he very helpful. Letters of nomination should be addressed to the Director of Undergraduate Studies. Contact the Undergraduate Director for information regarding the deadline.

Charles R. Middleton Award

The history department awards this award annually to a selected undergraduate history major who has met the requirements for Honors and is in the process of taking the History Honors Seminar: HIST 3110. This award provides funding for undergraduate research leading to a senior honors thesis in the History Department. The award provides up to $1000 (or a portion of that total if the award is shared between two or more recipients in a given year) to be used for travel or research-related expenses. Students may use the award for research during the summer, for brief research trips during the academic year, or for research activities to be carried out while studying abroad. Funds awarded will be disbursed to awardees upon submission of itemized receipts for research expenses to the History Department Program Assistant. A call for applications will be circulated annually.  Questions and applications should be directed to to the Director of Undergraduate Studies.

The Katherine J. Lamont Scholarship

This Arts and Sciences scholarship was established by the bequest of Katherine J. Lamont and is a variable annual monetary award available to a continuing Arts & Sciences student with sophomore or junior standing, in recognition of sustained excellence and exceptional scholarly performance in their chosen major. Awards are made in May of each year. Each A&S department determines eligibility internally, so students do not need to apply for this scholarship, consideration is automatic for qualified students.

The Director of Undergraduate Studies is  Prof. Phoebe Young