Login to Faculty IntranetThe History Department faculty has been honored with a variety of awards and fellowships, including several Guggenheim fellowships, and fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Social Science Research Council, and the Fulbright Commission.

Books authored by faculty members have been awarded the Pulitzer for best History book, the Bancroft Prize, the Francis Parkman Prize, the Mark Lynton History Prize, the American Historical Association’s George Louis Beer Prize (best book on European international history since 1895) and J. Russell Major Prize (best book on the history of France), among others.

The History Department faculty is also known for its innovative and committed teachers, at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, and it counts among its ranks numerous recipients of university teaching awards. 

Chairperson: Paul Sutter      

Committee Chairs & Program Directors:

Executive Committee Chair: TBD

Graduate Studies Program Director: Thomas Andrews

Undergraduate Studies Program Director:  Phoebe Young

Honors Program Directors:  Sungyun LimMatthew Gerber


Undergraduate Major Advising: Jessica Baron

Graduate Advising: Scott Miller